PATRIZIA School Dhoksan, Nepal

In 2012, the PATRIZIA School Dhoksan in the Nepalese mountain village of Dhoksan opened its doors to primary school grades 1 through 5. It withstood the severe earthquake of 2015 in the South Asian landlocked state almost unscathed and even served as emergency accommodations for several families for four months. In 2018, the primary school was expanded so that children can now attend school up to eighth grade.

“The children oftentimes need 45 minutes to go to school, but they are looking forward to it.”

Peter Helfrich, steward of the PATRIZIA School Dhoksan

Nepal is one of the poorest countries in the world, almost every second adult in the South Asian country is illiterate. In order to give future generations a better future through school education, the PATRIZIA Foundation has built a primary school in Dhoksan in 2012.

Seismically safe construction material with a high symbolic value

During the severe earthquake in 2015, around 4,000 schools were destroyed throughout the country. The solidly built PATRIZIA School Dhoksan survived the massive quakes comparatively unscathed and accommodated several families for four months as emergency shelter. In 2016, the windows, ceiling and floor have been renovated by the PATRIZIA Foundation.

School extension with materials from earthquake ruins

In 2018, the PATRIZIA Foundation in cooperation with Supertecture has expanded the school to an extended primary school so that the children can now be taught up to eighth grade. Four new buildings were constructed which also house a library and a reading room.

Some of the materials used in the construction were donations from houses destroyed by the earthquake, thus symbolising the reconstruction. Under the leadership of Till Gröner from Supertecture, a group of architecture students from the Augsburg University of Applied Sciences planned and implemented their plan for the new buildings according to the latest state of research.

Earthquake-proof and sustainable construction

The focus was on earthquake-proof construction – using local construction methods. Each classroom is an individually constructed building using various local, traditional natural building methods such as rammed earth, bamboo, brick and natural stone. The buildings are located at an altitude of over 2,000 meters and, in addition to the individual, creativity-enhancing architectural style, give the children an excellent view of the breathtaking Himalayan panorama.

As local partners, in addition to the school director Man Bahadur, the Shila Devi School Board, an association of parents of the pupils, is responsible for the smooth running of the project.

Award-winning architecture

In 2020, our partner Supertecture was awarded the Hans Sauer Award 2020 “Designing Circularity in the Built Environment” for the sustainably built houses of the PATRIZIA School Dhoksan, and also with the first place in the Hans Benedikt Prize by the Augsburg University of Applied Sciences. In addition, Supertecture was nominated for the 2020 Brick Award in the “Building Outside the Box” category.

The current pandemic has an impact on our facilities worldwide. As an immediate measure, we have established the CORONA FUND EDUCATION HEALTHCARE in the amount of €100,000 from our reserves. We use 100 per cent of this amount as immediate aid in our Children Centers. However, since there is a lack of help in all facilities worldwide and the need is constantly growing due to the Corona measures, we also offer you the opportunity to support us in continuing to provide access to education. Find out more!

Our Project-Partner:

Watch the video for more information about the PATRIZIA School Dhoksan

Nima’s tale of happiness

Long journeys may be tedious, but they are usually worth it. Like Nima’s daily trip to the PATRIZIA School Dhoksan.

The 11-year-old Nima attended the primary school for five years. Although it is the closest school for her, the girl has a 45-minute daily trip to school. But she still enjoys it because she is looking forward to school. And because she can walk it together with her two little brothers.

With the extension of the PATRIZIA School Dhoksan, her education does not end after primary school. Nima can now get lessons there up to eighth grade and continue to walk to school together with her brothers. She feels very comfortable in the new classrooms.

Thirty tales of happiness in a single bus  

For children to get to school every day in the mountainous region around Dhoksan, they have to walk for up to 45 minutes They walk there in the morning and back home in the afternoon so that they can follow the exciting lessons at PATRIZIA School Dhoksan. As well as negotiating dangerous roads and steep hills, to make the walk to school even more challenging, in the monsoon season there’s heavy rain to deal with. Six enthusiastic parents decided to work out an alternative: They organised a collection and raised €3000 to buy a school bus. The minibus has enough room to carry 20 to 30 children, thus sparing them the long daily walk to school. 

The school bus is a source of great happiness for everyone. As the children hop off the minibus at the end of their drive along the winding mountain roads, they beam with joy, before running up to their friends to start lessons together. To make sure the children do get to school every day, two villagers take turns to drive the bus. And their faces beam just as brightly as the children’s, if not more. The school bus initiative highlights that by working together, changes for the positive have the potential to bring a smile to many faces.

PATRIZIA School Dhoksan, Nepal

2012 öffnete im nepalesischen Bergdorf Dhoksan die PATRIZIA School Dhoksan für die Grundschulklassen 1 bis 5. Sie übersteht das schwere Erdbeben 2015 im südasiatischen Binnenstaat nahezu unbeschadet und dient einigen Familien sogar vier Monate lang als Notunterkunft. 2018 wurde die Grundschule erweitert, sodass die Kinder nun bis zur achten Klasse zur Schule gehen können.

„Trotz 45 Minuten Schulweg strahlen die Kinder bei ihrer Ankunft und freuen sich auf den Schultag.”

Peter Helfrich, Pate der PATRIZIA School Dhoksan

Nepal ist eines der ärmsten Länder der Welt, fast jeder zweite Erwachsene in dem südasiatischen Land ist Analphabet. Um nachfolgenden Generation durch schulische Bildung eine bessere Zukunft zu ermöglichen, hat die PATRIZIA Foundation 2012 in Dhoksan eine Grundschule gebaut.

Schule wird nach schwerem Erdbeben zu Schutzraum

Bei dem schweren Erdbeben 2015 wurden im ganzen Land rund 4.000 Schulen zerstört. Die solide erbaute PATRIZIA School Dhoksan übersteht die gewaltigen Beben vergleichsweise unbeschadet und beherbergt mehrere Familien vier Monate als Notunterkunft. 2016 werden die Fenster, die Decke und der Boden durch die PATRIZIA Foundation renoviert.

Schulerweiterung mit Baumaterial aus Erdbebenruinen

Damit die Schüler nach der Grundschulbildung ihr Wissen erweitern können, hat die PATRIZIA Foundation in Kooperation mit Supertecture 2018 die Schule zu einer erweiterten Grundschule ausgebaut, sodass die Kinder nun bis zur achten Klasse unterrichtet werden können. Vier neue Gebäude entstanden, die auch eine Bibliothek und einen Lesesaal beherbergen.

Die beim Bau verwendeten Materialien waren zum Teil Spenden aus vom Erdbeben zerstörten Häusern und somit Symbol für den Wiederaufbau. Unter der Leitung von Till Gröner von Supertecture plante und setzte eine Gruppe von Architekturstudenten der FH Augsburg nach neuestem Forschungsstand ihren Plan für die neuen Gebäude um.

Erdbebensicher und nachhaltig gebaut

Schwerpunkt war dabei erdbebensicheres Bauen – unter Nutzung lokaler Bauweisen. Jedes Klassenzimmer ist ein individuell errichtetes Gebäude aus verschiedenen lokalen, traditionellen Naturbauweisen wie Stampflehm, Bambus, Ziegel und Naturstein. Die Gebäude liegen auf über 2.000 Metern Höhe und geben den Kindern neben dem individuellen, kreativitätssteigernden Baustil einen ausgezeichneten Blick über das atemberaubende Himalaya-Panorama.

Als lokale Partner kümmern sich neben dem Schuldirektor Man Bahadur das Schulkomitee Shila Devi School Board, ein Zusammenschluss von Eltern der Schüler, vor Ort um den reibungslosen Ablauf.

Prämierte Architektur

2020 wurde unser Partner Supertecture für die nachhaltig gebauten Häuser der PATRIZIA School Dhoksan mit dem Hans-Sauer-Award 2020 „Designing Circularity in the Built Environment“ ausgezeichnet sowie mit dem ersten Platz des Hans-Benedikt-Preises der Hochschule Augsburg. Darüber hinaus war die Schule für den Brick Award 2020 in der Kategorie „Building outside the box“ nominiert.

Die aktuelle Pandemie hat Auswirkungen auf unsere Einrichtungen weltweit. Als Sofortmaßnahme haben wir den CORONA FUND EDUCATION HEALTHCARE in Höhe von 100.000 Euro aus unseren Rücklagen eingerichtet. Diesen Betrag nutzen wir zu 100 Prozent als Soforthilfe in unseren Children Centern. Da es aber weltweit in allen Einrichtungen an Hilfe mangelt und der Bedarf durch die Corona-Maßnahmen stetig wächst, bieten wir auch Ihnen die Möglichkeit, uns dabei zu unterstützen, den Zugang zu Bildung weiter zu gewähren. Erfahren Sie mehr!

Unsere Projekt-Partner:

Erfahren Sie mehr über die PATRIZIA School Dhoksan

Nimas Glücksgeschichte

Weite Wege sind zwar mühsam, lohnen sich aber in der Regel. So wie Nimas täglicher Schulweg in die PATRIZIA School Dhoksan.

Die elfjährige Nima besuchte fünf Jahre lang die Grundschule in Dhoksan. Obwohl es für sie die nächstgelegene Schule ist, hat das Mädchen einen täglichen Schulweg von 45 Minuten. Aber der Weg macht ihr wenig aus, weil sie sich auf die Schule freut. Und weil sie ihn gemeinsam mit ihren zwei kleinen Brüdern laufen kann.

Durch die Schulerweiterung der PATRIZIA School Dhoksan endet ihre Schulbildung nicht nach der Grundschule. Nima kann dort nun bis zur achten Klasse Unterricht erhalten und weiterhin gemeinsam mit ihren Brüdern zur Schule laufen. In den neuen Klassenzimmern fühlt sie sich sehr wohl.

Dreißig Glücksgeschichten in einem Bus 

Bis zu 45 Minuten gehen die Kinder in der bergigen Region um Dhoksan jeden Tag zu Fuß, um in die Schule zu kommen. Morgens hin und nachmittags wieder zurück nach Hause, damit sie dem spannenden Unterricht in der PATRIZIA School Dhoksan folgen können. Neben unsicheren Straßen und steilen Anstiegen erschweren in der Regensaison zusätzlich die Monsunniederschläge den Fußmarsch. Sechs engagierte Elternteile haben sich zusammengetan, um eine Alternative zu suchen: Gemeinsam sammelten sie 3.000 Euro, um einen Schulbus zu kaufen. In dem Minibus haben 20 bis 30 Kinder Platz, denen von jetzt an der tägliche lange Fußmarsch zur Schule erspart bleibt. 

Der Schulbus ist für alle ein großes Glück. Vor Freude strahlend springen die Schüler am Ende der Fahrt über kurvige Bergstraßen aus dem Minibus und laufen zu ihren Freunden, um gemeinsam den Unterricht zu besuchen. Damit die Kinder auch jeden Tag zur Schule gelangen, wechseln sich zwei Dorfbewohner als Fahrer ab. Auch sie strahlen dabei mindestens genauso sehr wie die Kinder. Das Projekt Schulbus zeigt: Gemeinsam zaubern positive Veränderungen ein Lächeln in viele Gesichter.