Education for the smart city of tomorrow

Jun. 2022

Smart Cities and Social Care: This was the motto of the theme evening on 01.06.2022 at the NEXT500 Pavilion on Augsburg’s Rathausplatz, hosted by the PATRIZIA Foundation and PATRIZIA AG. Around 70 people attended the event. As part of a panel discussion, Alexander Erbgraf Fugger-Babenhausen, Senior Council Chairman of the Fugger Foundations, spoke with representatives of PATRIZIA Foundation and PATRIZIA AG. The main topics were the city of tomorrow and the importance of social investments and especially education on the way there.
Dr Marc Lucassen, Managing Director of the Swabian Chamber of Industry and Commerce, emphasised in his welcoming address how many companies from the region are committed to education worldwide as partners of the PATRIZIA Foundation. “Economic success and social responsibility are not a contradiction, but ideally complement each other. Our Bavarian-Swabian companies particularly stand for social commitment, a sustainable mindset and innovative concepts. PATRIZIA AG and PATRIZIA Foundation are thus exemplary in a long tradition of responsible Swabian entrepreneurship,” said Lucassen.

Urbanity of the future

“Only a social city can also be a smart city,” emphasised Marleen Bikker-Bekkers, Head of Investments Europe, PATRIZIA Netherlands B.V., in her keynote speech. In the urban structures of the future, people need the ability to shape their own lives. Marleen Bikker-Bekkers does not see urban planning as a task for politicians alone. Private companies could make a decisive difference with financial resources, but also with know-how. “Our goal is to create cities where people of all generations and income levels can live well. This can only be done with the help of investors,” says Marleen Bikker-Bekkers.

Enabling young people to live self-determined lives

“Our society needs the private-sector commitment of courageous entrepreneurs like Wolfgang Egger more urgently than ever,” emphasised Alexander Erbgraf Fugger-Babenhausen during the subsequent panel discussion. For today, too, there are many challenges, both locally in Augsburg and globally. Egger, CEO of PATRIZIA AG, thanked the Fugger family for the opportunity to jointly organise the Sponsor Circle Talk. For him personally, it is important to provide added value for society and to bring this idea into the company as DNA:

“Instead of ‘me first’, it should be ‘we first’. We carry this spirit forward and let it grow. As a foundation, we take responsibility and enable young people to lead self-determined lives.”

Angelika Jacobi, Chairwoman of the Board and Managing Director of the PATRIZIA Foundation, explained that education is a long-term investment that is passed down through generations and enables people to live in dignity, even in the poorest regions of the world. “The PATRIZIA Foundation is committed to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals. Education is key to social advancement around the world.”

The participants in the discussion agreed: sustainable investments and people-friendly supply infrastructures will continue to play an increasingly important role in the future. Education infrastructure in particular is important for the social and just society of tomorrow.

Every donated euro goes to good use

The great interest that companies in the region show in social investments was also reflected in the feedback from the guests after the discussion. “With my commitment as a Sponsor Circle Member of the PATRIZIA Foundation, I can give something back to society,” said Hellmut Golisch, a self-employed real estate agent from Augsburg. “I appreciate the work of the foundation because it is based locally, works absolutely transparently and every euro that is donated goes to the projects.”

Bildung für die smarte Stadt von morgen

Jun. 2022

Smart Cities und Social Care: Unter diesem Motto stand der Themenabend am 01.06.2022 im NEXT500 Pavillon am Augsburger Rathausplatz, zu dem die PATRIZIA Foundation und die PATRIZIA AG eingeladen hatten. Rund 70 Personen nahmen an der Veranstaltung teil. Im Rahmen einer Podiumsdiskussion sprach Alexander Erbgraf Fugger-Babenhausen, Seniorratsvorsitzender der Fuggerschen Stiftungen, mit Vertretern von PATRIZIA Foundation und PATRIZIA AG. Hauptthemen waren die Stadt von morgen und die Bedeutung, die sozialen Investitionen und insbesondere Bildung auf dem Weg dorthin zukommt.

Dr. Marc Lucassen, Hauptgeschäftsführer der IHK Schwaben, hob in seinem Grußwort hervor, wie viele Unternehmen aus der Region sich als Partner der PATRIZIA Foundation für Bildung weltweit engagieren. „Wirtschaftlicher Erfolg und soziale Verantwortung sind kein Widerspruch, sondern ergänzen sich im Idealfall gegenseitig. Unsere bayerisch-schwäbischen Unternehmen stehen in besonderem Maße für gesellschaftliches Engagement, eine nachhaltige Denkweise und innovative Konzepte. PATRIZIA AG und PATRIZIA Foundation stehen damit beispielhaft in einer langen Tradition verantwortungsvollen schwäbischen Unternehmertums“, sagte Dr. Lucassen.

Urbanität der Zukunft

„Nur eine soziale Stadt kann auch eine smarte Stadt sein“, betonte Marleen Bikker-Bekkers, Head of Investments Europe, PATRIZIA Netherlands B.V., in ihrer Keynote. Menschen benötigten in den urbanen Strukturen der Zukunft die Fähigkeit, ihr eigenes Leben zu gestalten. Marleen Bikker-Bekkers sieht Stadtplanung nicht allein als Aufgabe der Politik. Private Unternehmen könnten mit finanziellen Ressourcen, aber auch mit Know-how einen entscheidenden Unterschied bewirken. „Unser Ziel ist es Städte zu schaffen, in denen Menschen aller Generationen und Einkommensverhältnisse gut leben können. Das geht nur mit Hilfe von Investoren“, so Marleen Bikker-Bekkers.

Jungen Menschen ein selbstbestimmtes Leben ermöglichen

„Unsere Gesellschaft braucht das privatwirtschaftliche Engagement beherzter Unternehmer wie Wolfgang Egger dringender denn je“, betonte Alexander Erbgraf Fugger-Babenhausen bei der anschließenden Panel-Diskussion. Denn auch heute stellen sich vor Ort in Augsburg wie auch global vielfältige Herausforderungen. Egger, CEO der PATRIZIA AG, bedankte sich bei der Familie Fugger für die Möglichkeit, den Sponsor Circle Talk gemeinsam zu gestalten. Für ihn sei es persönlich wichtig, einen Mehrwert für die Gesellschaft zu leisten und diesen Gedanken auch als DNA ins Unternehmen zu bringen:

„Statt ‚me first‘ sollte es ‚we first‘ heißen. Diesen Spirit tragen wir weiter und lassen ihn wachsen. Als Stiftung übernehmen wir Verantwortung und ermöglichen jungen Menschen ein selbstbestimmtes Leben.“

Angelika Jacobi, Chairwoman of the Board und Managing Director der PATRIZIA Foundation, erklärte, dass Bildung eine langfristige Investition sei, die über Generationen weitergetragen wird und den Menschen auch in den ärmsten Regionen der Welt ein Leben in Würde ermöglicht. „Die PATRIZIA Foundation verpflichtet sich den Nachhaltigkeitszielen der Vereinten Nationen. Bildung ist auf der ganzen Welt der Schlüssel für den sozialen Aufstieg.“ 

Die Teilnehmer der Diskussion waren sich einig: Nachhaltige Investitionen und menschengerechte Versorgungsinfrastrukturen werden auch in Zukunft eine immer wichtigere Rolle spielen. Insbesondere Bildungsinfrastruktur ist wichtig für die soziale und gerechte Gesellschaft von morgen.

Jeder gespendete Euro kommt an

Das große Interesse, das Unternehmen in der Region an sozialen Investitionen zeigen, spiegelten auch die Rückmeldungen der Gäste nach der Diskussion wider. „Mit meinem Engagement als Sponsor Circle Member der PATRIZIA Foundation kann ich etwas an die Gesellschaft zurückgeben“, sagte Hellmut Golisch, selbstständiger Immobilienmakler aus Augsburg. „Ich schätze die Arbeit der Stiftung, da sie vor Ort ansässig ist, absolut transparent arbeitet und jeder Euro, der gespendet wird, in den Projekten ankommt.“