Prof. Bodo B. Schlegelmilch: CSR and social expectations

Aug. 2020

Prof. Dr. mult. Bodo B. Schlegelmilch from the Vienna University of Economics and Business has been conducting research in corporate social responsibility (CSR) since the 1990s. In his most recent book, he discusses CSR from a variety of angles. We talked to Prof. Schlegelmilch in his Vienna office and discovered that even the Covid-19 crisis is having a positive impact on CSR.

Hello Professor Schlegelmilch. Everyone seems to be talking about CSR at the moment. Can we start by asking if there’s a clear understanding of what CSR actually means?

Yes, the definition of CSR is somewhat vague. In some ways it has overlaps with business ethics, but on the other hand it has something to do with sustainability. All three terms seem to flow into one another. But actually, CSR describes a company’s obligation to do something for society – above and beyond legal requirements. That said, this definition is also a stumbling block. To what extent is it an obligation? And to what extent is it voluntary? Is it ‘only’ about addressing negative influences with a bearing on the activities of a company (such as making production as environmentally friendly as possible), or do businesses actually have a moral obligation to do something for society, over and above their statutory obligations (such as helping the homeless or building children’s homes)?

There are a number of different opinions on this in the literature. The author Edward Freeman is at one end of the scale. He argues that companies are instruments of public policy and have a moral duty to take care of socially disadvantaged groups. This contrasts to Milton Freedman, who argues that for companies, social responsibility is first and foremost about raising profits according to the rules of free competition, without deception or deceit.

You’ve been researching CSR since the 1990s. Have perceptions shifted since then?

CSR – or business ethics, even if no-one called it that – has always been around, everywhere. For example, there were industrialists who took particular care of the local community. In Japan, big companies were writing corporate codes of ethics long before American or European companies. But now the topic has really come to the fore. There are very few interviews with prominent CEOs in which they don’t highlight all the projects their companies are involved in in the area of CSR. There’s also increasing interest in the topic at business schools. Naturally, students are still interested in different ways to improve profits, but they’re also interested in understanding the role companies should be playing in society.

So profit is not just ‘one’ key measurement?

Correct, because it’s comparatively easy to measure how well profits are doing if you want to judge a company. On the other hand, if a company wants to be profitable but at the same time wants to behave in such a way that it doesn’t do harm to the environment – or its employees and business partners should be treated well, and it should also be doing something good for society – that makes it more difficult to gauge company results. Can weaker profits be explained away by CSR campaigns? Or do CSR campaigns actually result in rising profits? To what extent are senior management entitled to make CSR expenditures? Isn’t that a decision that should be taken by the owners, i.e. the shareholders – that they should decide what should be done with any returns that are generated? There are so many questions that need to be posed, and some of them are pretty debatable.

So what about CSR reporting?

There are now some fairly good reporting standards, such as the Global Reporting Initiative (GRI). But despite this, the main problem is still measurability. How do you measure humanity? How do you measure contributions to environmental protection? You can still measure carbon emissions, but it soon gets complicated working out sensible measurement criteria in this area. And also, it’s difficult to check things objectively. So you always have to be careful, because there are so many ways to manipulate the numbers. Just think about so-called greenwashing.

What should companies think about when engaging in CSR communication?

Communication must be credible and realistic, so you shouldn’t pander to people’s expectations or get pushy, otherwise it’s easy to put consumers off. It’s awful when companies first come out with those big slogans and then later, ethical misdeeds come to light. So if you’re going to use CSR in your positioning, it has to be thought through properly.

Is CSR one of those trends at the moment, something lots of companies are getting into?

I think CSR is getting more and more important, and you can see that it’s developing into a social expectation. It’s a bit like shopping bags. In the old days, plastic bags were everywhere, but now it’s almost like they make you a social outcast if you use them, so you start using cloth bags instead. ‘Good’ conduct in the corporate setting results in others following suit if a certain number of organisations start becoming CSR-aware. Expectations are tremendously powerful!

What’s more important in motivating companies: doing something good or simply avoiding becoming a social outcast?

You can’t really generalise on that one; it depends on the company. I think quite a lot of them take CSR extremely seriously and also want to bring about social or environmental change, or at least support it. But then there are others who just jump on the bandwagon so they don’t look bad.

Lots of companies make donations and think they’ve done their bit. How does that come across to members of the public?

In the worst-case scenario, consumers don’t even notice . You’re more likely to raise awareness if there’s a logical link between your CSR activities and the business activities of the company, and I think that’s also more authentic. If a computer company provides schools with computer equipment and this also has a connection with education, it’s a good match. Or if a pharmaceutical company becomes involved in healthcare services, that also makes sense. But if they sponsor an exhibition of indigenous art in the Amazon, people start asking why they’re doing it. Wherever possible, CSR should be a good match with the core business and be part and parcel of overall business processes. It rarely works running CSR separately, with a department thinking up projects by itself.

So what do companies need to think about if they’re looking for a suitable partner to work with them on CSR?

There are lots of organisations and NGOs that have developed expertise in this area, and by doing so they’ve earned a good amount of legitimacy. They have to pursue a good cause, they have to be perceived as doing so by the general public, and they have to work professionally and document what the money is used for. It’s particularly important to show the impact, so a company should give specific feedback on what it achieves by helping others. Companies also have to justify spending money on CSR – which brings us back to measurability again.

What direction do you think the topic of CSR will go in?

It will become even more important than it is now. The current Covid-19 situation has actually accelerated the existing trend. For example, what happened with mask production really exposed the fragility of our supply chains. People have already started wondering if continually improving things purely for economic reasons is really the right way forward – and this is something I’m increasingly seeing reflected in other areas. Think for example about flying to meetings, which was quite normal only months ago and suddenly it had to be replaced by video-conferencing. I firmly believe that video-conferencing and working from home will continue after Covid-19, at least in some areas. The pandemic has shown us that more environmentally friendly work is possible. Covid-19 has made us re-evaluate our behaviour and goals in lots of areas. And that includes the role played by companies in society and thus also the role of CSR. Maybe the crisis will also result in us being more humane to one another.

Prof. Dr. mult. Bodo B. Schlegelmilch

 

Prof. Dr. mult. Bodo B. Schlegelmilch is head of the Institute for International Marketing Management at the Vienna University of Economics and Business, chairman of the Association of MBAs (AMBA) and is actively involved in lecturing at a variety of institutions worldwide. His recent book, Rethinking Business Responsibility in a Global Context: Challenges to Corporate Social Responsibility, Sustainability and Ethics, published with Ilona Szőcs in February 2020 (Springer Publishing), examines CSR from a variety of angles.

Foundation Talk mit Prof. Schlegelmilch

Aug. 2020

CSR auf dem Weg zur sozialen Norm

Prof. Dr. mult. Bodo B. Schlegelmilch von der Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien forscht seit den 1990er-Jahren zu Corporate Social Responsibility. In seinem aktuellen Buch beleuchtet er das Thema aus verschiedenen Perspektiven. Wir sprachen mit ihm in seinem Wiener Büro und erfuhren, dass selbst die Covid-19-Krise in Hinblick auf CSR etwas Positives haben kann. 

Herr Prof. Schlegelmilch, CSR ist heute in aller Munde. Ist der Begriff denn überhaupt klar definiert?

Corporate Social Responsibility ist in der Tat eher lose definiert und hat Überlappungen zu Business Ethics auf der einen und Sustainability auf der anderen Seite – alle drei Begriffe fließen ineinander. Tatsächlich drückt CSR eine Verpflichtung von Unternehmen aus, etwas für die Gesellschaft zu tun, das über gesetzliche Vorschriften hinausgeht. Doch die Definition ist auch Stein des Anstoßes: Inwieweit handelt es sich um eine Verpflichtung und inwieweit ist es freiwillig? Geht es „nur“ um ein Adressieren negativer Einflüsse, die mit den Tätigkeiten eines Unternehmens in Zusammenhang stehen (z. B. eine möglichst umweltfreundliche Produktion) oder haben Unternehmen tatsächlich eine moralische Verpflichtung, etwas für die Gesellschaft zu tun, das über ihre gesetzlichen Verpflichtungen hinausgeht (z. B. sich um Obdachlose zu kümmern oder Kinderheime zu bauen).

In der Literatur gehen die Meinungen hier auseinander. Der Autor Edward Freeman repräsentiert eine Seite des Pols und argumentiert, dass Unternehmen Instrumente der öffentlichen Ordnung sind und eine moralische Verpflichtung haben, sich um sozial schwächer gestellte Gruppen zu kümmern. Im Gegensatz dazu propagiert Milton Freedman,  dass die soziale Verantwortung von Unternehmen in erster Linie darin besteht, ihre Profite zu erhöhen; und zwar nach den Regeln des freien Wettbewerbs und ohne Täuschung und Betrug.

Sie forschen bereits seit den 90er-Jahren zu CSR. Hat sich die Wahrnehmung seitdem verändert?

CSR bzw. Business Ethics, wenn auch nicht so benannt, hat es schon immer und überall gegeben. Beispielsweise in Form von Industriellen, die sich besonders um die sie umgebenden Gemeinschaften gekümmert haben. In Japan haben große Unternehmen schon vor amerikanischen oder europäischen sogenannte Corporate Codes of Ethics formuliert. Mittlerweile ist das Thema stark in den Vordergrund gerückt. Es gibt kaum noch Interviews mit namhaften CEOs, in denen diese nicht betonen, welche zahlreichen Projekte ihre Unternehmen im Bereich CSR unterstützen. Auch an Business Schools steigt das Interesse an dem Thema. Studierende sind natürlich weiterhin daran interessiert, wie man Profite anheben kann – aber eben auch daran, welche Rolle Unternehmen in der Gesellschaft spielen sollten.

Der Gewinn ist also nicht mehr die „eine“ Maßgröße?

Richtig, denn Gewinnoptimierung lässt sich zwar relativ leicht messen und das Unternehmen so beurteilen. Wenn ein Unternehmen aber sowohl profitabel sein möchte, aber sich auch so verhalten will, dass die Umwelt nicht geschädigt wird, die Angestellten und Geschäftspartner gut behandelt werden und darüber hinaus noch etwas für die Gesellschaft tun, ist die Messbarkeit der Unternehmensresultate schwieriger. Können schwächere Gewinne mit CSR-Maßnahmen erklärt werden oder führen CSR-Maßnahmen sogar zu einer Gewinnsteigerung? Inwieweit ist die Unternehmensführung überhaupt berechtigt, CSR-Ausgaben zu tätigen; ist das nicht eine Entscheidung der Eigentümer, d. h. der Aktionäre, was man mit dem erwirtschafteten Profit macht? Es gibt viele Fragen, die zum Teil sehr kontrovers diskutiert werden.

Wie sieht es mit CSR-Reporting aus?

Es gibt mittlerweile einige recht gute Reportingstandards, wie beispielsweite die Global Reporting Initiative (GRI). Trotzdem bleibt die Messbarkeit die beherrschende Problematik: Wie messen Sie Humanität? Wie den Beitrag zum Umweltschutz? Der CO2-Ausstoß ist noch messbar, aber insgesamt wird es in dem Bereich auch schnell kompliziert, vernünftige Messgrößen heranzuziehen. Und auch eine objektive Überprüfung ist schwierig. Man muss daher immer aufpassen, da die Manipulationsmöglichkeiten sehr hoch sind. Denken Sie nur an das sogenannte Greenwashing.

Was sollten Unternehmen bei der Kommunikation von CSR beachten?

Die Kommunikation muss glaubhaft und realistisch sein, nicht zu anbiedernd bzw. aufdringlich, sonst werden Konsumenten schnell abgeschreckt. Besonders tragisch ist es, wenn erst große Parolen kommuniziert werden und dann ethische Verfehlungen ans Licht gebracht werden. Eine Positionierung über CSR muss daher genau überdacht werden.

Ist CSR aktuell ein Trend, auf den viele aufspringen?

Ich glaube, CSR wird immer wichtiger und entwickelt sich zusehends in Richtung einer sozialen Norm. Denken Sie an Tragetaschen: Während früher Plastiktaschen gängig waren, wird man heute damit fast schon zum Social Outcast und steigt lieber von selbst auf Jute um. „Gutes“ Verhalten führt auch im Unternehmensumfeld dazu, dass andere nachziehen, wenn eine bestimmte Anzahl von Organisationen sich CSR-bewusst verhält. Die Kraft der Norm ist enorm!

Und was ist dann die Kernmotivation eines Unternehmens:  etwas Gutes tun oder nur kein Social Outcast sein?

Das lässt sich kaum verallgemeinern. Es kommt auf das Unternehmen an – ich glaube, dass es durchaus viele gibt, die CSR sehr ernst nehmen und auch gesellschaftliche oder ökologische Veränderungen herbeiführen oder zumindest unterstützen wollen. Andere wiederum springen nur auf den Trend auf, um nicht negativ wahrgenommen zu werden.

Viele Unternehmen spenden und sehen damit ihre Bringschuld erledigt. Wie wird das von der Gesellschaft wahrgenommen?

Im schlechtesten Fall nehmen Konsumenten solche Spenden gar nicht wahr. CSR-Aktivitäten, die in einem logischen Zusammenhang mit den Tätigkeitsfeldern der Unternehmen stehen, erwecken mehr Aufmerksamkeit und sind meines Erachtens auch authentischer. Wenn ein Computerhersteller Geräte für Schulen bereitstellt und dies mit Ausbildung verbindet, ist das stimmig. Wenn ein Pharmaunternehmen sich im Gesundheitsbereich engagiert, macht das ebenfalls Sinn. Ein Sponsoring für eine Ausstellung indigener Kunst im Amazonas wirft dagegen die Frage auf, wieso man das macht. CSR sollte möglichst zum Kerngeschäft passen und somit auch in allen Geschäftsprozessen verankert sein. Eine ausgegliederte CSR-Abteilung, die sich in Isolation einige Projekte ausdenkt, ist selten zielführend.

Worauf sollten Unternehmen achten, wenn sie einen geeigneten Partner für ihr CSR-Engagement suchen?

Es gibt eine große Zahl von Organisationen, NGOs, die hier Expertise und dadurch hohe Legitimität aufgebaut haben. Sie müssen einen guten Zweck verfolgen, in der Öffentlichkeit so wahrgenommen werden und professionell arbeiten und dokumentieren, wofür Gelder eingesetzt werden. Besonders wichtig ist die erzielte Wirkung, also konkretes Feedback, was mit der Unterstützung des Unternehmens erreicht wurde. Unternehmen müssen CSR-Ausgaben ja auch rechtfertigen, womit wir wieder bei der Messbarkeit sind.

Wie denken Sie, dass sich das Thema CSR in der Zukunft entwickeln wird?

Es wird noch wichtiger, als es ohnehin schon ist. Tatsächlich wurde der bestehende Trend durch Covid-19 noch beschleunigt. Beispielsweise wurde uns die Fragilität unserer Lieferketten deutlich bei der Maskenproduktion vor Augen geführt. Da hat man sich schon die Frage gestellt, ob die permanente Optimierung unter rein wirtschaftlichen Gesichtspunkten wirklich der richtige Weg ist – und diese Reflektion sehe ich zunehmend auch in anderen Bereichen. Denken Sie beispielsweise an Flüge zu Meetings, die vor wenigen Monaten noch vollkommen normal waren und plötzlich durch Videokonferenzen ersetzt werden mussten. Ich davon aus, dass die Videokonferenzen und Homeoffice zumindest zu einem Teil nach Covid-19 bleiben werden. Die Pandemie hat uns daher gezeigt, dass umweltfreundlicheres Arbeiten möglich ist. Covid-19 führt in vielen Bereichen dazu, unsere Verhaltensweisen und Ziele zu überdenken. Dazu gehört auch die Rolle der Unternehmen in unserer Gesellschaft und damit auch die Rolle von CSR. Vielleich führt die Krise uns zu einem humaneren Miteinander.

Prof. Dr. mult. Bodo B. Schlegelmilch

 

Prof. Dr. mult. Bodo B. Schlegelmilch ist Vorsitzender des Instituts für International Marketing Management an der Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien, Vorsitzender der Association of MBAs (AMBA) und lehrt an verschiedenen Institutionen weltweit. Sein aktuelles Buch „Rethinking Business Responsibility in a Global Context: Challenges to Corporate Social Responsibility, Sustainability and Ethics”, herausgegeben mit Ilona Szőcs und im Februar 2020 im Springer-Verlag erschienen, beleuchtet CSR aus verschiedenen Perspektiven.