PATRIZIA Child Care Govindpur, India

 

Traditional teaching, sitting in rows, is quite normal in Indian preschool and children are still disciplined with a cane to get them to sit still. A new approach to teaching in India is currently emerging in Govindpur. The Gossner Church is building a kindergarten with the support of the PATRIZIA Foundation based on the methods of progressive education, an approach that encourages children to learn by using creative techniques and play.

“Building a kindergarten supports the mental, psychological, physical and social development of the children.”

Wolfram Nieradzik, member the management board at the Funk Group

The Gossner Mission has been supporting the Gossner Church in India for many years and helps fight for the rights of the Adivasis – a group of indigenous people often sidelined by the Hindu caste system and marginalised by society, especially in rural areas.

In 2011, the Gossner Church succeeded in pulling together enough donations to open the first kindergarten based on progressive education. Located in Ranchi, it was named after Martha, the first Adivasi child to be baptised by the missionaries. The whole concept is new in India, because kindergartens are virtually non-existent in the country, although there are preschools, which are highly disciplined and don’t allow for playing. “The Martha Kindergarten lets children still be children. They’re given plenty of space and are allowed to learn by playing,” explains Christian Reiser, director of Gossner Mission.

The Martha Kindergarten is open to all children. It is also possible for families from disadvantaged backgrounds to send their children to school there, even if they can only pay low tuition fees. Despite this, the kindergarten in Ranchi is self-supporting because better-off families pay higher fees in keeping with their higher levels of household income. The aim of the Gossner Church is to set up a Martha Kindergarten in all five dioceses as far east as Assam. There is already a second school in Chaibasa. Building on the Martha Kindergarten in Govindpur started in February 2020.

 

Continuing construction despite Covid

After a few weeks, construction had to be interrupted due to the lockdown. However, a good two months later, on the first of June 2020, construction continued. Despite the difficult conditions due to the Corona pandemic, the construction work progressed according to plan. For example, at the end of July, the deep drilling for the construction of a well, which will ensure the water supply for the kindergarten, took place. Then the next Currently, the project managers of the PATRIZIA Foundation, the construction workers and the employees of the kindergarten hope that work will be able to continue as normal from October 2021. The lockdown in India has already been extended several times and currently all schools and kindergartens in the country are still closed. Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

Therefore, we are currently providing support primarily with funds from the Corona Fund Education Healthcare.

More than a Kindergarten

The Gossner Church would like the children to know that there is also a place for them at school after kindergarten. It runs a variety of schools in India, from primary schools to college level. It also has an education centre for deacons in Govindpur. The Gossner Church intends to extend the methods of progressive education used in the Martha Kindergarten to all of its educational establishments.

The current pandemic has an impact on our facilities worldwide. As an immediate measure, we have established the CORONA FUND EDUCATION HEALTHCARE in the amount of €100,000 from our reserves. We use 100 per cent of this amount as immediate aid in our Children Centers. However, since there is a lack of help in all facilities worldwide and the need is constantly growing due to the Corona measures, we also offer you the opportunity to support us in continuing to provide access to education. Find out more!

Our Project-Partner:

Logo funk - svg

PATRIZIA Child Care Govindpur, Indien

 

In indischen Vorschulklassen ist Frontalunterricht die Regel, und Kinder werden immer noch mit dem Rohrstock zum disziplinierten Stillsitzen erzogen. Ein für Indien neues Konzept entsteht derzeit in Govindpur: Dort baut die Gossner-Kirche zusammen mit der PATRIZIA Foundation einen Kindergarten mit einem reformpädagogischen Ansatz, bei dem Kinder auf kreative und spielerische Weise lernen können.

„Mit dem Bau des Kindergartens, werden die Kinder in ihrer mentalen, psychischen, physischen und sozialen Entwicklung gefördert.”

Wolfram Nieradzik, Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung der Funk Gruppe

Die Gossner Mission unterstützt seit langem Projekte der Gossner-Kirche in Indien und setzt sich für die Rechte der Adivasi ein. Diese Gruppe von Ureinwohnern steht außerhalb des hinduistischen Kastensystems und wird oft ausgegrenzt, besonders auf dem Land.

2011 konnte die Gossner-Kirche durch Spenden einen ersten reformpädagogischen Kindergarten in Ranchi eröffnen. Er wurde nach Martha benannt, dem ersten Adivasi-Kind, das von den Missionaren getauft wurde. Das Konzept ist für Indien neu, denn dort gibt es eigentlich keinen Kindergarten, nur eine Vorschule mit viel Disziplin und ohne spielerische Formen. „Im Martha-Kindergarten lässt man Kinder noch Kinder sein. Sie haben viel Freiraum und können auf spielerische Art lernen“, erklärt Christian Reiser, Direktor der Gossner Mission Reiser.

Der Martha-Kindergarten steht allen Kindern offen. Auch sozial schwache Familien können ihre Kinder dort unterbringen, selbst wenn sie keine Gebühren zahlen können. Dennoch trägt sich der Kindergarten in Ranchi selbst, da die begüterteren Familien entsprechend ihrem Einkommen höhere Beiträge zahlen. Ziel der Gossner-Kirche ist es, in allen ihren fünf Diözesen, die sich bis Assam erstrecken, einen Martha-Kindergarten zu errichten. Einen zweiten gibt es bereits in Chaibasa. In Govindpur wurde im Februar 2020 mit dem Bau des dritten Martha-Kindergartens begonnen.

 

Bau trotz Corona

Nach wenigen Wochen musste der Bau wegen des Lockdowns unterbrochen werden. Gut zwei Monate später, am ersten Juni 2020, ging es jedoch schon weiter. Trotz den erschwerten Bedingungen aufgrund der Corona-Pandemie konnten die Bauarbeiten planmäßig voranschreiten. So fand beispielsweise Ende Juli die Tiefenbohrung für den Bau eines Brunnens statt, der die Wasserversorgung des Kindergartens sicherstellen wird. Dann kam der nächste Lockdown und wieder mussten die Bauarbeiten unterbrochen werden. Derzeit hoffen die Projektmanager der PATRIZIA Foundation, die Bauarbeiter und Mitarbeiter des Kindergartens, dass ab Oktober 2021 wieder ganz normal weitergearbeitet werden kann. Der Lockdown in Indien wurde bereits mehrfach verlängert und aktuell sind noch alle Schulen und Kindergärten im Land geschlossen. 

Daher unterstützen wir zur Zeit vorrangig mit den Mitteln aus dem Corona-Hilfsfonds der PATRIZIA Foundation. 

Mehr als Kindergarten

Die Gossner-Kirche will den Kindern auch nach dem Kindergarten einen weiteren Schulbesuch sichern. Sie betreibt bereits eine Vielzahl an Schulen in Indien, vom Primarbereich bis hin zum College sowie ein großes Ausbildungszentrum für Diakone in Govindpur. Die reformpädagogischen Ansätze aus dem Martha-Kindergarten will die Gossner-Kirche auch in all ihre Bildungseinrichtungen hineintragen.

Die aktuelle Pandemie hat Auswirkungen auf unsere Einrichtungen weltweit. Als Sofortmaßnahme haben wir den CORONA FUND EDUCATION HEALTHCARE in Höhe von 100.000 Euro aus unseren Rücklagen eingerichtet. Diesen Betrag nutzen wir zu 100 Prozent als Soforthilfe in unseren Children Centern. Da es aber weltweit in allen Einrichtungen an Hilfe mangelt und der Bedarf durch die Corona-Maßnahmen stetig wächst, bieten wir auch Ihnen die Möglichkeit, uns dabei zu unterstützen, den Zugang zu Bildung weiter zu gewähren. Erfahren Sie mehr!

Unsere Projekt-Partner:

Logo funk - svg