PATRIZIA School Ndanda

Classes with 100 or more pupils are not uncommon in Tanzania’s primary schools: the population is growing and with it the number of children and young people at state schools. The quality of school education suffers from the catastrophic conditions: Many children hardly learn to read and write properly.

In order to offer more children access to quality education, the Benedictine Abbey of Ndanda is expanding its primary school in cooperation with the PATRIZIA Foundation. In the first step, a main building with rooms for ten classes is being built, after which the sanitary facilities will be improved. In the medium term, up to 620 children will be given the chance of a self-determined life.

Education in Africa

“Education improves the situation of the children, but also of their families.”

Kristian Bollmann
Partner and Project Management, PATRIZIA Foundation

Education as a way out of poverty

The Benedictines have been running a primary school in Ndanda since 2018. But space was scarce. To be able to accommodate more children, the abbey decided to expand the school. Education is of enormous importance for society in Tanzania. Currently, far too few primary school pupils fulfil the requirements for secondary education or a qualified profession. On the other hand, there is a high demand for skilled personnel: nursing, administration, hotel management and many other sectors are desperately looking for well-trained staff. As a result, the country’s transformation into a modern society is progressing only slowly, and for many people there is no way out of poverty.

Education in Africa

Impact of the school radiates into society

The high-quality education at PATRIZIA School Ndanda gives the students prospects. But it does much more than that. The situation of the families and their homes also improves. Ultimately, this has an impact on society as a whole. This effect is also professionally evaluated. This is because the school in Ndanda is the first PATRIZIA Foundation project in which the partners took into account, even before the start of the construction phase, how the effects of the project could be concretely recorded in comparison with a scientific model.

Longstanding partnership

The PATRIZIA Foundation has a long-standing partnership with the Benedictine Abbey of Peramiho, which, like Ndanda, is located in Tanzania. The abbot of Ndanda, Christian Temu, was already known to the Foundation from his time as missionary procurator. A cooperation for the extension of the primary school was obvious. Kristian Bollmann from the PATRIZIA Foundation’s partner and project management team and Abbot Christian Temu met in St. Ottilien in Bavaria to sign the contract.

Rising costs hamper construction progress

Since the start of the construction site in August 2022, costs have been rising continuously. Due to the Ukraine war, the exchange rate of the euro is falling and energy costs are exploding. Both together are driving up the prices of building materials such as cement. An end to the price increases is not yet in sight. Therefore, financial support is urgently needed so that the construction can be realised as planned and the PATRIZIA School Ndanda will soon have space for more children.

Our Project-Partner:

Travelogue Tanzania Abbot Consecration Ndanda
Logo Erzabtei St. Ottilien

PATRIZIA School Ndanda

Klassen mit 100 und mehr Schülern sind in Tansanias Grundschulen keine Seltenheit: Die Bevölkerung wächst und damit auch die Zahl der Kinder und Jugendlichen an den staatlichen Schulen. Die Qualität der Schulbildung leidet unter den katastrophalen Zuständen: Viele Kinder lernen kaum richtig lesen und schreiben.

Um mehr Kindern Zugang zu hochwertiger Bildung zu bieten, erweitert die Benediktinerabtei Ndanda in Zusammenarbeit mit der PATRIZIA Foundation ihre Grundschule. Im ersten Schritt entsteht ein Hauptgebäude mit Räumen für zehn Klassen, danach werden die sanitären Anlagen verbessert. Mittelfristig erhalten so bis zu 620 Kinder die Chance auf ein selbstbestimmtes Leben.

Bildung in Afrika

„Die Bildung verbessert die Situation der Kinder, aber auch ihrer Familien.“

Kristian Bollmann
Partner- und Projektmanagement, PATRIZIA Foundation

Bildung als Ausweg aus der Armut

Schon seit 2018 betreiben die Benediktiner in Ndanda eine Grundschule. Doch der Platz war knapp. Um mehr Kinder aufnehmen zu können, entschloss sich die Abtei zur Erweiterung der Schule. Bildung ist von enormer Bedeutung für die Gesellschaft in Tansania. Aktuell erfüllen viel zu wenig Grundschüler die Voraussetzungen für weiterführende Bildung oder einen qualifizierten Beruf. Demgegenüber steht ein hoher Bedarf an Fachpersonal: Pflege, Verwaltung, Hotelmanagement und viele andere Branchen suchen händeringend nach gut ausgebildeten Mitarbeitern. Die Folge: Die Transformation des Landes hin zu einer modernen Gesellschaft geht nur langsam voran, für viele Menschen gibt es keinen Ausweg aus der Armut.

Bildung in Afrika

Wirkung der Schule strahlt in die Gesellschaft

Die hochwertige Bildung an der PATRIZIA School Ndanda gibt den Schülern Perspektiven. Aber sie bewirkt noch deutlich mehr. Auch die Situation der Familien und ihrer Wohnorte verbessert sich. Letztendlich strahlt das auf die gesamte Gesellschaft aus. Diese Wirkung wird auch fachlich evaluiert. Denn die Schule in Ndanda ist das erste Projekt der PATRIZIA Foundation, bei dem die Partner bereits vor Beginn der Bauphase berücksichtigten, wie sich die Wirkungen des Projekts im Abgleich mit einem wissenschaftlichen Modell konkret erfassen lassen.

Langjährige Partnerschaft

Die PATRIZIA Foundation verbindet eine langjährige Partnerschaft mit der Benediktinerabtei Peramiho, die ebenso wie Ndanda in Tansania liegt. Der Abt von Ndanda, Christian Temu, war der Stiftung zudem bereits aus seiner Zeit als Missionsprokurator bekannt. Eine Zusammenarbeit für die Erweiterung der Grundschule war naheliegend. Zur Vertragsunterzeichnung trafen sich Kristian Bollmann vom Partner- und Projektmanagement der PATRIZIA Foundation und Abt Christian Temu im bayerischen St. Ottilien.

Steigende Kosten erschweren Baufortschritt

Seit dem Start der Baustelle im August 2022 steigen die Kosten kontinuierlich an. Aufgrund des Ukrainekriegs fällt der Wechselkurs des Euro und die Energiekosten explodieren. Beides zusammen treibt die Preise für Baumaterialien wie Zement in die Höhe. Ein Ende der Preissteigerungen ist noch nicht absehbar. Daher ist finanzielle Unterstützung dringend notwendig, damit der Bau wie geplant realisiert werden kann und die PATRIZIA School Ndanda bald Platz für mehr Kinder hat.

Unsere Projekt-Partner:

Reisebericht Tansania Abtweihe Ndanda
Logo Erzabtei St. Ottilien