“Even in the middle of the Peruvian rainforest, education opens up a new world to the children.”

Nikolaus Moser, steward of the  PATRIZIA School Sondoveni

PATRIZIA School Sondoveni, Peru

In 2014, the PATRIZIA Children Foundation along with its Peruvian project partner Creciendo and students from the University of Stuttgart established a secondary school in Sondoveni in the Peruvian province of Satipo.

Sondoveni is a village with around 80 families. It lies in the middle of the rainforest of the South American state, about four hours away from the capital Lima. The last two hours of which on unpaved roads through the jungle. There is a great shortage of schools in the rainforest in particular – a problem that also has other implications: more than 1.6 million Peruvian children under the age of 14 work and attend school only to a limited extent or not at all.

Nikolaus Moser, sponsor of PATRIZIA School Sondoveni, Peru
New school attracts teacher

The new secondary school enables children from the surrounding villages to go to school and quickly was able to procure a teacher who teaches all subjects – from biology and mathematics to agriculture. This is a huge gain for the nearly inaccessible region, which teachers have so far shunned. But the new school building is persuasive, even without electricity and running water: In addition to the classroom, it includes a divisible multi-purpose room, a library area, toilets and showers, as well as accommodations for the teacher.

Education is the key to a better future in Peru

The PATRIZIA School Sondoveni lays the foundation for a path out of poverty for children. Education is crucial for escaping hunger and hopelessness and leading a self-determined life, even in the remotest regions of the world.

The current pandemic has an impact on our facilities worldwide. As an immediate measure, we have established the CORONA FUND EDUCATION HEALTHCARE in the amount of €100,000 from our reserves. We use 100 per cent of this amount as immediate aid in our Children Centers. However, since there is a lack of help in all facilities worldwide and the need is constantly growing due to the Corona measures, we also offer you the opportunity to support us in continuing to provide access to education. Find out more!

 

Juan´s tale of happiness

Juan´s parents are illiterate like most people here. That’s why he pays very good attention during class at PATRIZIA School Sondoveni. He does not only do it for himself: he has already begun teaching his parents, who are field workers, how to write. He wants to teach them everything he learns and hopes to find a way out of poverty for his family. Since Juan is very resourceful, he will surely succeed – thanks to the school that teaches not only him, but also his family.

Managing Director Alexander Busl reports from his foundation journey to Peru

Education in the rain forest

The PATRIZIA School Sondoveni is our first project in Latin America – located in the middle of the Peruvian rain forest. We built the secondary school on a small plateau above the indigene village Sondoveni in 2014. Students of the Universities of Stuttgart and Lima joined forces with our local partner Creciendo and made this project come to life. Today, we are tackling the current challenges at the school and will expand it together with our new CSR partner APOprojekt. Workshops with the pupils, teachers, parents, the indigene village community of the Asháninka as well as the district’s mayor help us identify the specific needs of the school. At the same time, they are a means to raise awareness in the community for the importance of education.

On this journey we were accompanied by the sponsor of this project, Nikolaus Moser. He knows the school well and also interpreted for us. Also on board: Vera Fontanella and Christan Brueggemann, both from our partner APOprojekt. Hannah Klug was also part of team. As an architecture student in Stuttgart, she joined the construction of the school in 2014. There, she met her boyfriend, who supported the project from the University of Lima. Today, they both live in Lima, where Hannah works as an architect at the local university. Together with her students, she is highly engaged in disadvantaged neighbourhoods and knows the struggles of the indigene population. She took the lead in our workshops.
Being in school means being absent on the plantation

All 34 current pupils of the school are from Sondoveni, a village with about 50 indigenous families. They belong to the Asháninka – the biggest ethnic group in the Peruvian rain forests of the Amazon counting about 50.000 people. Nearly all of them are simple farmers and live on coffee cultivation. Sondoveni looks different from European villages with their neatly organized rows of houses and a village core. Here, the village has no core but single shacks were built around the various fields. The area’s beauty is breathtaking, the living conditions simple. Children usually help their parents with field work from around 13 years of age.

This is exactly where we start in our workshops, in order to further raise awareness for education. We show the parents and villagers their children’s opportunities following a school education. And they educate us on how they are being perceived as Asháninka and what they desire for their school and community. Here we learn that they feel their needs are often ignored by the state, due to the great physical, social and cultural distance from the capital, Lima. But they do not want to live in material and educational poverty.

School expansion and new housing planned for teachers

The PATRIZIA School Sondoveni is a public school that consists of three classrooms for five classes. The participants at the workshop wish for an extension by two new classrooms in order to offer each class a separate room and also accommodate additional pupils. We also believe this to be necessary. Through this expansion we expect a strong pull effect for the school. With a better infrastructure and higher capacity, the secondary school can also educate pupils from neighbouring villages.

Up until now the teaching staff is accommodated in a very simple room in the village that is also being used for storage. A renovation of the housing or a new building for the teachers can ameliorate their working conditions. This can lead to more motivated colleagues that will excitedly educate the young people. Currently, all five teachers at the school are provided by the state and do not originate from the region. In order to preserve the cultural heritage worth protecting of the natives, the school would like to attract indigene teachers in the future.

Running water for the PATRIZIA School Sondoveni

Currently, the school is not connected to the water grid. The building is being supplied with water via a big rain water barrel. As long as this tank is above ground, there is a risk that bacteria will multiply there. We are planning with APOprojekt to put the rain water barrel in an underground cistern equipped with a filter system. The PATRIZIA School Sondoveni will then be able to use the rain water from the entire roof area.

Support from the community

Lizeth Monica Chuquimia Velasquez, the mayor of Rio Negro is participating in the workshop and contributes a lot of knowledge. Her deputy, too, is an Asháninka. Together they try to advance improvements in the entire region. She will address the topics discussed in the workshop as well as the connection to the water grid on a municipal level.

Creciendo, a strong local partner

Gina Duarte de Pezet, the founder of the aid organization Creciendo, advocates locally for the needs of the school. As the initiator of the PATRIZIA School Sondoveni, the organization has been an important intermediary for us from the very beginning. They regularly visit the school and are involved in many processes. Together we can push important matters forward faster.

Sondoveni is one of seven villages near Rio Negro that Creciendo is supporting – none of the communities have a secondary school. Thus, the expansion of the school is important to all seven villages: In the future, even more children will be able to deepen their education here.

Realization with APOprojekt

Our new partner APOprojekt will plan, execute and finance the school extension in close cooperation with us. The company is specialized on tenant fit-out and has been engaged in our Sponsor Circle for several years now. Their involvement as a CSR partner in this project will be even higher: APOprojekt will not only cover the costs of the school expansion, but will also support with employee man power and know-how during construction.

As project managers, we coordinate all processes and stakeholders, make sure the school operation in Sondoveni will continue for 25 years and necessary expansions are realized. When all decisions about the extension are made, the construction phase can begin in summer. To us it is a real joy that we can show with the attractive, extended PATRZIA School Sondoveni that even in the deepest Peruvian rain forest children and adolescents can get a good school education and pave the way for a better life.

„Selbst mitten im peruanischen Regenwald steht den Kindern die Welt der Bildung offen.”

Nikolaus Moser, Pate der PATRIZIA School Sondoveni

PATRIZIA School Sondoveni, Peru

2014 errichtete die PATRIZIA Children Foundation gemeinsam mit dem peruanischen Projektpartner Creciendo und Studenten der Universität Stuttgart eine Sekundarschule in Sondoveni in der peruanischen Provinz Satipo. 

Sondoveni ist ein Dorf, in dem rund 60 Familien leben. Es liegt mitten im Regenwald des südamerikanischen Staates, etwa zehn Autostunden von der Hauptstadt Lima entfernt. Die letzten zwei Stunden davon über unbefestigte Wege im Dschungel. Gerade im Regenwald herrscht ein großer Mangel an Schulen – ein Problem, das auch andere Auswirkungen mit sich bringt: Mehr als 1,6 Mio. peruanische Kinder unter 14 Jahren arbeiten und besuchen nur eingeschränkt oder gar keine Schule.

Nikolaus Moser, Pate der PATRIZIA School Sondoveni, Peru

Neue Schule zieht Lehrer an

Die neue Sekundarschule ermöglicht Kindern der umliegenden Dörfer, zur Schule zu gehen. Sie besteht aus drei Klassenzimmern für fünf Klassen. Aktuell unterrichten dort fünf Lehrer. Ein sehr großer Gewinn für die schwer zugängliche Region, an der Lehrer bislang kein Interesse zeigten.

Bildung ist der Schlüssel für eine bessere Zukunft in Peru

Die PATRIZIA School Sondoveni legt den Grundstein für den Weg aus Armut und Hunger für Kinder. Denn Bildung ist der Weg aus Hunger und Ausweglosigkeit in ein selbstbestimmtes Leben, selbst in den entlegensten Regionen der Welt.

Lesen Sie auch Juans Glücksgeschichte und den Reisebericht von Alexander Busl.

Die aktuelle Pandemie hat Auswirkungen auf unsere Einrichtungen weltweit. Als Sofortmaßnahme haben wir den CORONA FUND EDUCATION HEALTHCARE in Höhe von 100.000 Euro aus unseren Rücklagen eingerichtet. Diesen Betrag nutzen wir zu 100 Prozent als Soforthilfe in unseren Children Centern. Da es aber weltweit in allen Einrichtungen an Hilfe mangelt und der Bedarf durch die Corona-Maßnahmen stetig wächst, bieten wir auch Ihnen die Möglichkeit, uns dabei zu unterstützen, den Zugang zu Bildung weiter zu gewähren. Erfahren Sie mehr!

Juans Glücksgeschichte

Juans Eltern sind Analphabeten wie die meisten Menschen hier. Deshalb passt er im Unterricht der PATRIZIA School Sondoveni besonders gut auf, um auch seinen Eltern die Buchstaben beibringen zu können.

B ist sein Lieblingsbuchstabe. Die beiden Bögen lassen sich beim Schreiben mit dem Stift so richtig schön aufblasen, das gefällt ihm. Und er denkt nicht nur für sich im Unterricht mit. Er hat schon damit begonnen seinen Eltern, die Feldarbeiter sind, das Schreiben näherzubringen. Er will ihnen neu Erlerntes gleich beibringen, und hofft für seine Familie so einen Ausweg aus der Armut zu finden. Da Juan voller Ideen steckt, findet er einen Weg – so lehrt die Schule nicht nur ihn, sondern auch seine Familie.

Managing Director Alexander Busl berichtet von seiner Stiftungsreise nach Peru

Bildung auch im Regenwald

Die PATRIZIA School Sondoveni ist unser erstes Projekt in Lateinamerika und befindet sich inmitten des peruanischen Regenwalds. Auf einem kleinen Plateau oberhalb des indigenen Dorfs Sondoveni haben wir 2014 die Sekundarschule errichtet. Studierende der Universitäten Stuttgart und Lima sowie unser lokaler Partner Creciendo setzen das Projekt um. Nun gehen wir die aktuellen Herausforderungen der Schule an und erweitern sie gemeinsam mit unserem neuen CSR-Partner, APOprojekt. In Workshops mit Schülern, Lehrern, Eltern, der indigenen Dorfgemeinschaft der Asháninka und der Bürgermeisterin des Bezirks arbeiten wir heraus, wo die Schule konkret Hilfe benötigt, und sensibilisieren weiter für das Thema Bildung.

Neben dem Projektpaten Nikolaus Moser, der die Schule gut kennt und während unserer Reise zudem dolmetscht, begleiten uns Vera Fontanella und Christian Brüggemann von APOprojekt auf unserer Reise. Außerdem ist auch Hannah Klug mit dabei – sie hat 2014 beim Schulbau in Sondoveni als Stuttgarter Architektur-Studentin mitgearbeitet und dort ihren Freund kennengelernt, der das Projekt von Seiten der Universität Lima unterstützte. Heute leben beide gemeinsam in Lima, wo Hannah als Architektin an der Universität arbeitet. Dort engagiert sie sich mit ihren Studenten in benachteiligten Stadtteilen und kennt daher die Bedürfnisse der indigenen Bevölkerung. Sie wird unsere Workshops leiten.

Wer die Schule besucht, fehlt auf dem Feld

Alle 34 Schüler kommen aktuell aus Sondoveni, einem Dorf mit rund 50 Ureinwohner-Familien. Sie gehören zu den Asháninka, mit rund 50.000 Menschen die größte ethnische Gruppe in den peruanischen Regenwäldern des Amazonas. Fast alle sind einfache Bauern und leben vom Kaffeeanbau. Sondoveni entspricht nicht dem europäischen Verständnis von einem Dorf mit ordentlichen Häuserreihen und einem Dorfkern. Vielmehr wurden einzelne Hütten um die Plantagen errichtet. Die Gegend ist atemberaubend schön, die Lebensverhältnisse sind mehr als einfach. Kinder helfen ihren Eltern meist ab etwa 13 Jahren bei der Feldarbeit.

Schulerweiterung und neue Unterkunft für Lehrer geplant

Die PATRIZIA School Sondoveni ist eine öffentliche Schule, die aus drei Klassenzimmern für fünf Klassen besteht. Die Workshop-Teilnehmer wünschen sich ein bis zwei neue Klassenzimmer, um allen Klassen einen eigenen Raum zur Verfügung zu stellen und weitere Schüler aufzunehmen. Das halten wir ebenfalls für notwendig. Durch diese Erweiterung erwarten wir eine starke Sogwirkung für die Schule. Als attraktive Sekundarschule mit verbesserter Infrastruktur bietet die PATRIZIA School Sondoveni auch Kapazitäten, um die Schüler aus den umliegenden Dörfern zu unterrichten.

Bisher ist das Lehrpersonal in einem sehr einfachen Raum im Dorf untergebracht, der gleichzeitig als Lager dient. Bessere Arbeitsbedingungen können wir etwa durch die Renovierung der Unterkunft oder ein neues Gebäude für die Lehrerschaft schaffen. So gewinnt die Schule künftig mehr motivierte Kollegen, die die jungen Menschen mit Begeisterung ausbilden. Die aktuell fünf Lehrer der Schule werden vom Staat gestellt und stammen nicht aus der Gegend. Um das schützenswerte Kulturerbe der Ureinwohner zu bewahren, möchte die Schule perspektivisch indigene Lehrer für sich gewinnen.

Fließendes Wasser für die PATRIZIA School Sondoveni

Aktuell besitzt die Schule keinen Anschluss an das Wassernetz. Die Versorgung mit Wasser deckt das Gebäude über eine große Regenwassertonne. So lange dieses Behältnis oberirdisch steht, besteht die Gefahr, dass sich dort Bakterien vermehren. Gemeinsam mit APOprojekt planen wir, den Regenwasserspeicher in eine unterirdische Zisterne zu verlegen und mit einem Filtersystem zu versehen. So kann die PATRIZIA School Sondoveni das Regenwasser der gesamten Dachflächen nutzen.

Unterstützung von der Kommune

Auch Lizeth Monica Chuquimia Velasquez, die Bürgermeisterin von Rio Negro, nimmt am Workshop teil und bringt viel Wissen mit ein. Ihr Stellvertreter ist ebenfalls ein Asháninka und gemeinsam versuchen sie, kulturelle Veränderungen für die gesamte Region voranzubringen. Sie wird auf kommunaler Ebene die angesprochenen Themen sowie den Anschluss ans Wassernetz angehen.

In einer zweiten Bauphase könnte perspektivisch ein Internats-Bereich für all jene Schüler entstehen, die durch die Schulerweiterung sonst jeden Tag einen langen Fußweg durch den Regenwald vor sich haben.

Creciendo, ein starker Partner vor Ort

Gina Duarte de Pezet, die Gründerin der Hilfsorganisation Creciendo, setzt sich lokal für die Bedürfnisse der Schule ein. Als Initiator der PATRIZIA School Sondoveni ist die Organisation von Anfang an ein wichtiger Mittler für uns vor Ort. Sie sind sehr regelmäßig in der Schule und deshalb in viele Prozesse involviert. Gemeinsam können wir wichtige Themen anregen und beschleunigen.

Creciendo fördert mit Alto Sondoveni insgesamt sieben Dörfer in der Umgebung Rio Negro. In keiner der Gemeinden gibt es eine Sekundarschule. Die Schulerweiterung ist also für alle sieben Dörfer wichtig: Künftig können noch mehr Schüler hier ihre Bildung vertiefen.

Umsetzung mit APOprojekt

Unser neuer Partner APOprojekt wird die Schulerweiterung in enger Abstimmung mit uns planen, bauen und finanzieren. Das auf den Mieterausbau spezialisierte Unternehmen engagiert sich seit mehreren Jahren in unserem Sponsor Circle und will nun als CSR-Partner für dieses Projekt noch mehr tun: So trägt APOprojekt nicht nur alle finanziellen Kosten für den Schulausbau, sondern unterstützt uns auch durch die Leistung seiner Mitarbeiter und deren Know-how in der Umsetzung.

Als Projektsteuerer sichern wir den Schulbetrieb in Sondoveni nachhaltig für die nächsten 25 Jahre, sorgen für die notwendigen Erweiterungen und halten alle Fäden zusammen. Wenn alle Entscheidungen über die Schulerweiterung getroffen sind, startet die erste Bauphase im Sommer. Wir freuen uns, dass wir mit der vergrößerten, attraktiven PATRIZIA School Sondoveni zeigen können, dass auch im tiefsten peruanischen Regenwald Kinder und Jugendliche schulische Bildung erhalten und Weichen für ein besseres Leben stellen können.