Remote Run for Rwanda – a volunteering activity for the foundation

Dec. 2020

The PATRIZIA Foundation is organizing a virtual charity run under the motto “Running together for a good cause”. Anyone can take part and run a five-kilometre route of their choice between 24 December 2020 and 10 January 2021 – and thus support a school in Rwanda in order to build up infrastructures for digital learning there.

The “Remote Run for Rwanda” is a volunteering activity by Christina Lutz, an employee of PATRIZIA AG. Christina is a passionate runner herself and on PATRIZIA’s introduction day, in conversation with Angelika Jacobi from the PATRIZIA Foundation, she came up with the idea of holding a virtual charity running event. Together with the foundation, the 29-year-old organized the “Remote Run for Rwanda” for the Christmas season and hopes that many people will be infected with her passion for running: “Just the thought of doing good for children and for yourself at the same time is very motivating. You run alone, but you still run together to support a project together”.

Christina Lutz

Christina Lutz 

How does it work?

Anyone who wants to run for the good cause can register via the Race Result portal. In the period from 24 December to 10 January, each participant will run any five-kilometre course, track his time himself (based on trust) and upload it – preferably together with a photo – to the portal. Afterwards, the participants receive an individual certificate to print out.

8 steps to reach the goal:

  1. Register on the Race Result portal – registration is possible until 10 January!
  2. Print out your race number, which you will receive in the registration confirmation e-mail.
  3. Share your activity in your network! #patriziarun
  4. Find any 5 km long running track in your area!
  5. Run/walk in the campaign period 24 December 2020 to 10 January 2021 and track your time.
  6. Take a photo of yourself with your race number: before, during or after the race
  7. Upload the photo and your runtime to the Race Results portal, and post it, if you like, on social media with the hashtag #patriziarun
  8. You will receive your individual running certificate by e-mail to print out.

Support for the PATRIZIA Vocational Training Center Ntarama in Rwanda

The starting fee of five euros (less any minor transaction costs) will benefit the Ntarama project in Rwanda of the PATRIZIA Foundation. A higher amount can be paid voluntarily upon registration, which will then be donated totally to the foundation. It is also possible to take over a running sponsorship for the students of the training centre in Ntarama.

Like other schools worldwide, the PATRIZIA Vocational Training Center Ntarama in Rwanda was closed during the lockdown. As a result, the students no longer had access to education because there were no infrastructures for digital learning. The school itself was in dire straits as school fees were not paid. The PATRIZIA Foundation provided emergency aid during this difficult time and, with funds from the “Corona Fund Education Healthcare”, supported the school with salaries for teachers, food and necessary hygiene measures such as hand washing facilities for the reopening after the lockdown.

Handwashing facilites

The foundation also wants to help in the long term with a digitisation initiative, the “Digital Classroom”. The school urgently needs further support for the construction of a computer room and the purchase of laptops – so that access to education can be maintained in the long term despite further possible school closures via digital teaching. Therefore, the income from the starting fee and other donations collected during the charity run will go directly into this project.

Théophile Rutabana, managing director of the Nelson Mandela Education Center for Apprentices (NMEC)

#patriziarun – the hashtag to share!

The success of the project depends on as many people as possible making the run public and, for example, sharing their participation in the remote run in their own networks in order to motivate others to run as well – or to donate. This is also a good way for non-runners to support the project in Rwanda. Whether before the run or afterwards: Every post with the hashtag #patriziarun helps to make the project better known and thus also helps the school in Rwanda.

Further information can be found in our flyer. Questions, wishes or suggestions can be sent to the e-mail address remoterun@patrizia.ag.

Remote Run for Rwanda – eine Volunteeringaktion für die Stiftung

Dez. 2020

Unter dem Motto „Gemeinsam für den guten Zweck laufen“ organisiert die PATRIZIA Foundation einen virtuellen Charity-Lauf. Jeder kann mitmachen und im Zeitraum vom 24. Dezember 2020 bis zum 10. Januar 2021 eine fünf Kilometer lange Strecke seiner Wahl laufen – und damit eine Schule in Ruanda unterstützen, um dort Infrastrukturen für digitales Lernen aufzubauen.

Der „Remote Run for Rwanda“ ist eine Volunteeringaktion von Christina Lutz, einer Mitarbeiterin der PATRIZIA AG. Christina ist selbst passionierte Läuferin und kam am Einführungstag der PATRIZIA im Gespräch mit Angelika Jacobi von der PATRIZIA Foundation auf die Idee, eine virtuelle Charity-Laufveranstaltung durchzuführen. Zusammen mit der Stiftung organisierte die 29-Jährige den Lauf „Remote Run for Rwanda“ für die Weihnachtszeit und hofft, dass sich viele Menschen mit ihrer Leidenschaft zum Mitlaufen anstecken lassen: „Allein der Gedanke, Gutes für Kinder und gleichzeitig für sich selbst zu tun ist sehr motivierend. Man läuft zwar alleine, aber trotzdem zusammen, um gemeinsam ein Projekt zu unterstützen.“

Remote Run for Rwanda

Christina Lutz 

Wie funktioniert es?

Wer für den guten Zweck laufen will, kann sich über das Portal Race Result anmelden. Im Zeitraum vom 24. Dezember bis zum 10. Januar läuft jeder Teilnehmer für sich eine beliebige fünf Kilometer lange Strecke, trackt seine Zeit selbst (vertrauensbasiert) und lädt diese – gerne zusammen mit einem Foto – auf das Portal hoch. Im Anschluss erhalten die Teilnehmer eine individuelle Urkunde zum Ausdrucken.

In 8 Schritten ins Ziel:

  1. Melde dich auf dem Portal von Race Result an – die Anmeldung ist möglich bis zum 10. Januar!
  2. Druck deine Startnummer aus, die du in der Anmeldebestätigung per E-Mail erhältst.
  3. Teile deine Aktivität in deinem Netzwerk! #patriziarun
  4. Such dir eine beliebige 5 km lange Laufstrecke in deiner Umgebung!
  5. Laufe/walke im Aktionszeitraum 24. Dezember 2020 bis 10. Januar 2021 und tracke deine Zeit.
  6. Mach ein Foto von dir mit Startnummer: vor, während oder nach dem Lauf
  7. Lade das Foto und deine Laufzeit auf das Portal von Race Results und poste es gerne auch auf Social Media mit dem Hashtag #patriziarun
  8. Per E-Mail erhältst du deine individuelle Urkunde zum Ausdrucken.

Unterstützung des PATRIZIA Vocational Training Center Ntarama in Ruanda

Die Startgebühr von fünf Euro (abzüglich geringer anfallender Transaktionskosten) kommt dem Projekt Ntarama in Ruanda der PATRIZIA Foundation zugute. Freiwillig kann gerne ein höherer Betrag bei der Anmeldung bezahlt werden, der dann als Spende komplett an die Stiftung geht. Ebenso kann man eine Laufpatenschaft für die Schüler des Ausbildungszentrums in Ntarama übernehmen.

Das PATRIZIA Vocational Training Center Ntarama in Ruanda wurde während des Lockdowns wie andere Schulen weltweit geschlossen. Die Schüler hatten dadurch keinen Zugang mehr zu Bildung, denn Infrastrukturen für digitales Lernen gab es nicht. Die Schule selbst geriet in Existenznot, da die Schulgebühren ausblieben. Die PATRIZIA Foundation leistete in dieser schwierigen Zeit Soforthilfe und unterstützte aus Mitteln des „Corona Fund Education Healthcare“ bei den Gehältern für Lehrkräfte, Lebensmitteln und notwendigen Hygienemaßnahmen wie Handwascheinrichtungen für die Wiedereröffnung nach dem Lockdown.

Handwashing facilites

Mit einer Digitalisierungs-Initiative, dem „Digital Classroom“ will die Stiftung auch langfristig helfen. Für den Bau eines Computerraums und die Anschaffung von Laptops braucht die Schule dringend weitere Unterstützung – damit der Zugang zu Bildung trotz weiterer möglicher Schulschließungen über digitalen Unterricht langfristig erhalten werden kann. Deshalb fließen die Einnahmen aus der Startgebühr sowie weitere Spenden, die im Rahmen des Charity-Laufs gesammelt werden, direkt in dieses Projekt.

 

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Théophile Rutabana, Schulleiter des Nelson Mandela Education Center for Apprentices (NMEC)

#patriziarun – der Hashtag zum Teilen!

Der Erfolg des Projekts lebt davon, dass möglichst viele den Lauf bekannt machen und etwa die Teilnahme am Lauf in den eigenen Netzwerken teilen, um andere zu motivieren, ebenfalls zu laufen – oder zu spenden. Dies ist auch für Nichtläufer eine gute Möglichkeit, das Projekt in Ruanda zu unterstützen. Ob vor dem Lauf oder danach: Jeder Post mit dem Hashtag #patriziarun hilft, das Projekt bekannter zu machen und hilft somit auch der Schule in Ruanda.

Weitere Informationen gibt es in unserem Flyer. Fragen, Wünsche oder Anregungen können an die E-Mail-Adresse remoterun@patrizia.ag geschickt werden.