“No Chance for Corona” – how a comic book helps kids to understand the virus

Jun. 2020

Schools are closed and children are no longer allowed to meet their friends and grandparents – a situation that affects almost all countries worldwide due to the coronavirus pandemic.

For this reason, Welthungerhilfe, partner of the PATRIZIA Children Foundation in Kenya, together with the Berlin-based social enterprise WASH United, has developed a comic strip to help children and young people to understand COVID-19. It provides young people between the ages of 10 and 14 and with information about the coronavirus itself and other preventative hygiene measures. It has been translated into more than 20 languages, from Amharic to Pashtu and Swahili.

Comic distribution in Uganda

“We liked the comic so much that we wanted to distribute it to as many children as possible in our Children’s Centers in order to make a contribution to awareness rising on site,” says Petra Ellert from the partner management of the PATRIZIA Children Foundation. That is why she organized the distribution of the comics in the local facilities. The first comics were recently distributed together with masks, soaps and disinfectants in Buyamba in Uganda. Although the PATRIZIA School Buyamba, like other schools around the world, is still closed, there is good contact with the families through the community parish priest and the school director.

 

 

The children in Buyamba immediately began to browse through the booklets and delve into the story told in them. The identification with the protagonists is easy because the comic tells the story of four children from different continents, who all suffer from the fact that they are not allowed to have contact with friends and grandparents. They inform each other about the virus and explain the most important measures to prevent it from spreading – stay at home, keep their distance, wash their hands and help to protect themselves and their fellow human beings.

Financial support from the Corona relief fund

“Next, we want to have the booklets distributed in our Children’s Centers in Zimbabwe and Kenya. The country offices of Welthungerhilfe are supporting us in this”, explains Petra Ellert. The costs for printing and distribution will be paid for by the “Corona Fund Education Healthcare”, which the PATRIZIA Children Foundation has set up to support the Children’s Centers in need as a result of the pandemic. The resources from the relief fund are intended, among other things, to support the facilities in prevention and education in the healthcare sector.

The comic strip “No Chance for Corona” is also available for free download here. It can be used, reproduced and distributed for non-commercial purposes without limitation. Any commercial use is prohibited.

„Keine Chance für Corona“ – wie ein Comic Kindern hilft, das Virus zu verstehen

Jun. 2020

Die Schulen sind geschlossen und Kinder dürfen ihre Freunde und Großeltern nicht mehr treffen – eine Situation, von der aufgrund der Corona-Pandemie weltweit fast alle Länder betroffen sind. Für Kinder ist diese Situation schwer zu verstehen.

Aus diesem Grund hat die Welthungerhilfe, Partner der PATRIZIA Foundation in Kenia, zusammen mit dem Berliner Sozialunternehmen WASH United ein Comic entwickelt, das Kindern und Jugendlichen helfen soll, Corona zu verstehen. Es richtet sich an Kinder im Alter von zehn bis 14 Jahren und klärt über das Virus selbst und die notwendigen Präventionsmaßnahmen auf. Es wurde in mehr als 20 Sprachen übersetzt, von Amharisch über Pashtu bis zu Swahili.

Comic-Verteilung in Uganda

„Das Comic hat uns so gut gefallen, dass wir es an möglichst viele Kinder in unseren Kinderhäusern verteilen wollten, um einen Beitrag zur Aufklärung vor Ort zu leisten“, sagt Petra Ellert vom Partnermanagement der PATRIZIA Foundation. Deshalb organisierte sie die Verteilung der Comics in den Einrichtungen vor Ort. Die ersten Hefte wurden vor kurzem zusammen mit Mundschutzmasken, Seifen und Desinfektionsmittel in Buyamba in Uganda verteilt. Zwar ist die PATRIZIA School Buyamba ebenso wie andere Schulen weltweit noch geschlossen, doch besteht über den Gemeindepfarrer und die Schuldirektorin ein guter Kontakt zu den Familien.

 

 

Die Kinder in Buyamba begannen sofort, in den Heften zu schmökern und sich in die darin erzählte Geschichte zu vertiefen. Die Identifikation mit den Protagonisten fällt leicht. Denn das Comic erzählt die Geschichte von vier Kindern aus verschiedenen Kontinenten, die alle darunter leiden, dass sie keinen Kontakt zu Freunden und Großeltern haben dürfen. Sie informieren sich gegenseitig über das Virus und erklären die wichtigsten Maßnahmen, um eine Ausbreitung zu verhindern: zuhause bleiben, Abstand halten, Hände waschen und dabei mithelfen, sich und seine Mitmenschen zu schützen.

Mittel aus dem Corona-Hilfsfonds

„Als nächstes wollen wir die Hefte in unseren Kinderhäusern in Simbabwe und Kenia verteilen lassen. Dabei unterstützen uns die Länderbüros der Welthungerhilfe“, erklärt Petra Ellert. Die Kosten für den Druck und die Verteilung werden über den „Corona Fund Education Healthcare“ bezahlt, den die PATRIZIA Foundation zur Unterstützung der durch die Pandemie in Not geratenen Kinderhäuser ins Leben gerufen hat. Die Mittel aus dem Hilfsfonds sind unter anderem dafür vorgesehen, die Einrichtungen bei Prävention und Aufklärung im Bereich Healthcare zu unterstützen.

Das Comic „Keine Chance für Corona“ bzw. „No Chance for Corona“ steht hier als PDF auch zum Download zur Verfügung. Es darf für nicht-kommerzielle Zwecke uneingeschränkt genutzt, vervielfältigt und verbreitet werden. Jegliche kommerzielle Nutzung ist untersagt.