PATRIZIA Children Foundation

Coronavirus pandemic: strengthening access to education together now!

In all areas of the world, schools have had to close their doors due to the coronavirus pandemic – including our Children’s Centers, where the classrooms currently stand empty. Because many parents cannot afford the school fees due to the crisis, and with no technical infrastructure to offer online teaching, children from India to Peru are currently missing out on their education.

We want to do something about this! We need to act quickly and we need to pool our resources now so we can help where it matters most. We need to alleviate existential hardships and provide new infrastructure so that these children and adolescents do not lose their chance of a better future.

Especially now, it is important that we stay in close contact with all of our local partners at our schools, hospitals and children’s homes worldwide.

We are staying in touch with them by telephone, via email, messaging and WhatsApp and monitoring the current situation regarding our projects, working together to find common solutions and establish an online platform to simplify communication.
An example: if one of our schools has to be shut down, there are no school fees coming in … but the children are also not receiving their only valuable daily meal there. The school would like to offer the children lunch boxes – but they do not have the resources.

We all share a responsibility to do what we can to help in order to ensure that coronavirus is kept under control. Education plays a key role in this. Our CORONA FUND EDUCATION HEALTHCARE allows us to provide immediate aid so we can all do our best to overcome the crisis facing children worldwide at our PATRIZIA Children Centers. Do help us in our efforts. Thank you!
Wolfgang Egger

Founder, PATRIZIA Children Foundation

To act now, we have set up a fund called the Corona Fund Education Healthcare, 100 per cent of which will go directly towards our projects as a first step. See here how we have already provided concrete help in our projects with the financial resources from the fund. By donating to the fund, you will help support our project in the long term as a second step. Join in today and let’s work together in taking responsibility for everybody who needs our help! Read here how our PATRIZIA Children’s Centers assumes social responsibility in the pandemic. 

 

Donation account for the Corona Fund Education Healthcare
IBAN: EN11 7208 0001 0160 0333 88
BIC: DRESDEFFXXX
Reference: PCF Corona Fund
Donors receive a donation receipt

Even during the current crisis, we are providing children with long-term support worldwide!

our schools

Some schools have closed, some have reopened. Many schools do not have photocopiers or digital teaching materials to continue to provide for the children. Also, some schools cannot meet the new hygiene requirements. Parents can no longer afford the school fees, and all school staff are experiencing financial hardship.

our hospitals

Our hospitals are no longer able to work normally due to the heightened risk of infection. Without patients, there are no revenues and staff are forced to reduce their working hours on no pay – while still trying to help children and patients who need help using digital technology.

our children’s homes

Hygiene is a particular challenge at the moment, with large numbers of little children living in small rooms. In many cases there are insufficient sanitary facilities or running water. The children also urgently need to be occupied – they need workbooks, tablets and ways to learn online.

A fund to help in the crisis

Our motto for the year 2020 is “tales of happiness”.

Since the establishment of our Children’s Centers more than 20 years ago, we have already been able to help more than 220,000 children – and thus write many tales of happiness.

The current coronavirus pandemic requires a new chapter in our foundation era: As an immediate measure, the PATRIZIA Children Foundation has therefore created the “Corona Fund Education Healthcare”, into which we are paying 100,000€ as immediate aid for the affected children’s homes. We use 100 per cent of this sum for direct aid in our projects – just like all other donations that go into the relief fund.

We hope that thanks to the relief fund and the continued support of our sponsors, the current crisis for our Children’s Centers will take a happy turn and we will soon be able to tell more tales of hapiness. After all, our goal is still to give children worldwide access to education.

So far, we have already been able to collect 220.330,01 € with our relief fund – help us to increase this amount even more!


Donation account for the Corona Fund Education Healthcare

IBAN: EN11 7208 0001 0160 0333 88
BIC: DRESDEFFXXX
Reference: PCF Corona Fund
Donors receive a donation receipt

THANK YOU for your support!

This is where we help


Money from our special pandemic fund – Corona Fund Education Healthcare – is used to provide immediate aid at the PATRIZIA Children’s Centres that need help now. We’re following this up with preventative measures aimed at containing Covid-19.

The coronavirus pandemic has also had a severe impact on the PATRIZIA school in Harare in Zimbabwe. Rising Star School would normally welcome 1180 children to the classroom every day, and for many pupils school dinners are the only nutritious meal will they will receive all day. The school has been completely shut down since the outbreak of the pandemic. Ever since, as well as having to stop lessons, the teachers are not being paid and it has been totally impossible to provide the children with nourishment.

The PATRIZIA Children Foundation is helping the school with a five-figured injection of funds to make sure schoolchildren will at least continue to have their meals again.

This money is also partly being used to fund personnel costs and implement hygiene measures. Effective tools in combating the spread of Covid-19 are nose and mouth covers, soaps and disinfectants.

“No Chance for Corona” – how a comic book helps kids to understand the virus

Schools are closed and children are no longer allowed to meet their friends and grandparents – a situation that affects almost all countries worldwide due to the coronavirus pandemic.

For this reason, Welthungerhilfe, partner of the PATRIZIA Children Foundation in Kenya, together with the Berlin-based social enterprise WASH United, has developed a comic strip to help children and young people to understand COVID-19. It provides young people between the ages of 10 and 14 and with information about the coronavirus itself and other preventative hygiene measures. It has been translated into more than 20 languages, from Amharic to Pashtu and Swahili.

Read more and download the comic here.

Helping our communities stay safe

Difficult times in particular often strengthen the solidarity in society and thereby bring about the beautiful stories. Even now, tales of happiness are created!
Here we have collected some for you. Read them for yourself and find out how our project partners or parents of our school children, for example, gather new strength in difficult times.

Help right next door

Debbie is a teacher at the PATRIZIA School Buyamba in Uganda. She teaches English and Science to primary school students. Currently, as the school is closed, she is in lockdown at home.

Debbie, how are people in your community coping with the situation?

We have been lockdown for a few weeks and everybody is at home now. A lot of people in my community people are slowly running out of supplies and need food – especially the elderly in the village. Everyone is looking around to see who could need help, not only family members. So many people are donating food to other people, not in a big way, but they look around and care for those living next door.

How do you help?

When I go shopping, I think of my older neighbours and take an additional kilo of sugar or cornmeal with me to give to them. Often when I am cooking for my family, I will also carry an additional plate to our older neighbour. We like to eat matoke in our area – that is plantains, which can be cooked in a thousand different ways. With matoke everybody has a full stomach, and it is healthy and tastes incredibly good.

Notes to cope with the fear

Peter Nshimyumukizais a former student from the PATRIZIA Vocational Training Ntarama in Rwanda. He settled down with his family in the region and works usually as a qualified worker on construction sites. He also built his family house by himself. He has two children, Jean Simeon and Jean Yves.

Peter, how is your family coping with the situation?

My children are aged three and five years old. They do not fully understand the situation. Currently they are not allowed to play with other children, as they are used to. They also do not go to school and kindergarten. Again and again, every time something new about corona, they ask about it. They have many questions. They are also a bit afraid that mum or dad might get sick.

How do you help?

I cannot explain to my children what is really going on in the world, but I understand their fear and I want to take it away. That is why I have taught them prayers that they recite over and over when they feel a little bit of fear. The boys came up with the idea of sharing the prayers with other children, so we write them on slips of paper and leave them outside their friends’ doors whenever we go shopping.

Food for the poor

Théophile Rutabana is Managing Director at the PATRIZIA Vocational Training Ntarama in Rwanda.

Théophile, how are the people in your community coping with the situation?

The situation is precarious. Many people have no jobs and we don’t know how long the crisis will last. People in my village collect money to help those who cannot afford to buy food during the lockdown. Every donor gives a small amount of money, but we appreciate every donation. Everyone who can afford it is willing to help. This fosters a good feeling of community.

How do you help?

Schools were told to provide help. As Managing Director of a public school, I decided to offer professional help with the charity work.

 I was involved in fundraising and helping the poorest in the community. We collected a lot of donations and organised help for people in our village. The needy families ended up with 5 kilos of corn and 5 kilos of beans. This required many donations and was a great success.

Father’s shelter

Father Jude is the parish priest in Buymaba in Uganda. He is also the priest of our project partner at the PATRIZIA School in the village. He not only takes care of the spiritual well-being of the school. Together with the principal, Madame Sylvia, he helps run the school. The PATRIZIA School in Buyamba is his heart and soul.

Father Jude, how are the people in your community coping with the situation?

Food has become very expensive, as is usual in times of crisis, so people are eating all their supplies. People are more afraid now of hunger than coronavirus. Also, the families will not be able to pay the school fees either. As a school we have to be prepared for this. What is positive about such a crisis is that the people in the village stick together and help each other more than usual.

How do you help?

I am a priest of the parish, so my job is to help but I cannot help everyone. I have a few families where I know that I must take care of them because they cannot do it themselves. But most of the help I give is to the children who come to me. There are some who come every day or stay with me because their parents have smaller children for whom they can hardly care. So, the older children stay with me to survive. One of them finished primary school last year, two of them are in secondary school, some of them just come for lunch because they would not get it at home. So that’s my help and that’s a given and no matter if the crisis is called corona or poverty.

Thank you all – Take Care and Stay Healthy!

PATRIZIA Children Foundation

Corona-Pandemie: Jetzt gemeinsam den
Zugang zu Bildung stärken

Aktuell sind aufgrund der Corona-Pandemie weltweit Schulen geschlossen – auch in unseren Children Centern bleiben die Klassenzimmer leer. Ohne krisensicheres Einkommen können viele Eltern die Schulgebühren nicht mehr bezahlen, ohne Infrastruktur für digitalen Unterricht haben die Kinder von Indien bis Peru derzeit keine Chance auf Bildung.
Das wollen wir ändern! Jetzt gilt es, schnell und mit vereinten Kräften gezielt zu helfen: Wir müssen existenzielle Nöte lindern und neue Strukturen schaffen, damit diese Kinder und Jugendlichen ihre Zukunftsperspektive nicht verlieren.

Wir stehen aktuell in besonders engem Austausch mit unseren lokalen Partnern in unseren Schulen, Krankenhäusern und Kinderheimen weltweit. Telefonisch, per E-Mail, Sprachnachricht oder über Whatsapp kommunizieren wir mit ihnen über die Ist-Situation unserer Projekte. Zudem setzen wir gerade unsere Online-Plattform auf, auf der wir etwa in Videokonferenzen aus erster Hand Einblicke in die Projekte bekommen und so die Zusammenarbeit verbessern können. Mit der Schulschließung entfallen etwa das Schulgeld und in einigen Ländern auch die einzige vollwertige Mahlzeit der Schüler am Tag. Die Schulen möchten den Kindern gerne Lunchpakete anbieten – doch dazu fehlt das Geld.

Wir alle sind in der Verantwortung mitzuhelfen, die Verbreitung des Corona-Virus einzudämmen. Bildung ist dabei ein wichtiger Faktor. Unser CORONA FUND EDUCATION HEALTHCARE dient als Soforthilfe, um die weltumspannende Krise für die Kinder unserer PATRIZIA Children Center bestmöglich zu meistern. Bitte helfen Sie uns dabei. Vielen Dank!
Wolfgang Egger

Gründer, PATRIZIA Children Foundation

Als Sofortmaßnahme haben wir den Corona Fund Education Healthcare  ins Leben gerufen. Diesen setzen wir im ersten Schritt zu 100 Prozent aus unseren Rücklagen für die unmittelbare Hilfe in unseren Projekten ein. Mit Ihrer Spende können Sie uns helfen, unsere Projekte im zweiten Schritt langfristig zu unterstützen. Sehen Sie hier, wie wir mit den finanziellen Mitteln aus dem Fonds in unseren Projekten bereits konkret geholfen haben. Machen Sie mit und lassen Sie uns gemeinsam Verantwortung für alle übernehmen, die unsere Hilfe benötigen! Lesen Sie hier zudem, wie unsere PATRIZIA Children Center in der Krise soziale Verantwortung übernehmen.
Verwendungszweck: PCF Corona Fund

Spendenkonto für den Corona Fund Education Healthcare
IBAN: DE11 7208 0001 0160 0333 88
BIC: DRESDEFFXXX
Verwendungszweck: PCF Corona Fund
Alle Spender erhalten eine Spendenbescheinigung

Wir setzen uns auch in der aktuellen Situation
weltweit nachhaltig für Kinder ein!

Unsere Schulen

Einige Schulen haben geschlossen, manche wieder geöffnet. Viele Schulen verfügen nicht über Kopiergeräte oder digitales Lehrmaterial, um die Kinder weiterhin zu versorgen. Auch können manche Schulen die neuen hygienischen Anforderungen nicht erfüllen. Eltern können sich die Schulgebühren nicht mehr leisten, das gesamte Schulpersonal kommt in finanzielle Nöte.

Unsere Krankenhäuser

Aufgrund der erhöhten Ansteckungsgefahr können Krankenhäuser nicht wie gewohnt operieren. Patienten bleiben aus, die Einnahmen sinken, Mitarbeiter müssen ihre Stunden unbezahlt reduzieren – während sie gleichzeitig versuchen, ihre Hilfe den bedürftigen Kindern und Patienten auf digitalem Weg anzubieten.

Unsere Kinderheime

Hygiene ist hier eine besondere Herausforderung: Kleine Räume, viele kleine Kinder und häufig nicht ausreichend sanitäre Einrichtungen mit fließendem Wasser. Außerdem benötigen die Kinder dringend Beschäftigung: Arbeitsbücher, Tablets, Online-Lern-Angebote.

Ein Fonds, der in der Krise hilft

Das Jahr 2020 steht bei uns unter dem Motto „Glücksgeschichten“.

Denn mit unseren Children Centern konnten wir seit der Gründung vor über 20 Jahren bereits mehr als 220.000 Kindern helfen – und somit viele Glücksgeschichten schreiben.

Die aktuelle Corona-Pandemie erfordert ein neues Kapitel in unserer Stiftungsära: Als Sofortmaßnahme hat die PATRIZIA Children Foundation deshalb den „Corona Fund Education Healthcare“ ins Leben gerufen, in den wir 100.000 Euro als Soforthilfe für die betroffenen Kinderhäuser einzahlen. Diese Summe nutzen wir zu 100 Prozent für die unmittelbare Hilfe in unseren Projekten – ebenso wie alle weiteren Spenden, die in den Hilfsfonds fließen.

Wir hoffen, dass dank des Hilfsfonds und der weiteren Unterstützung unserer Sponsoren die aktuelle Krise für unsere Children Center eine glückliche Wendung nimmt und wir bald wieder weitere Glücksgeschichten erzählen können. Denn unser Ziel ist nach wie vor, Kindern weltweit Zugang zu Bildung zu ermöglichen.

Bisher konnten wir mit unserem Hilfsfonds bereits 220.330,01 Euro sammeln – helfen Sie mit, diese Summe noch zu steigern!

Spendenkonto für den Corona Fund Education Healthcare
IBAN: DE11 7208 0001 0160 0333 88
BIC: DRESDEFFXXX
Verwendungszweck: PCF Corona Fund
Alle Spender erhalten eine Spendenbescheinigung

Vielen Dank für Ihre Unterstützung!

Hier kommt unsere Hilfe an


Die Mittel des Corona Fund Education Healthcare setzen wir als Soforthilfe in unseren PATRIZIA Children Centern dort ein, wo sie jetzt benötigt wird. Im zweiten Schritt treiben wir präventive Maßnahmen gegen die Verbreitung von Covid-19 voran.

Die Auswirkungen der Corona-Pandemie hat auch die PATRIZIA School Harare in Simbabwe hart getroffen. Normalerweise hier auf die Rising Star School jeden Tag 1.180 Kinder zur Schule und erhalten hier die in vielen Fällen einzige vollwertige Mahlzeit des Tages. Seit dem Beginn der Pandemie ist die Schule geschlossen. Neben den Unterrichtsausfällen und ausbleibenden Gehaltszahlungen für die Lehrer konnten die Kinder schlicht nicht ernährt werden.

Die PATRIZIA Children Foundation unterstützt die Schule mit einer fünfstelligen Summe finanziell und stellt damit sicher, dass die Schüler weiterhin ihre Mahlzeit erhalten.

Ein Teil der Summe deckt außerdem die Personalkosten und die Umsetzung des Hygienekonzepts. Mund-Nase-Bedeckungen sowie Seife und Desinfektionsmittel sind effektive Maßnahmen gegen die Verbreitung von Covid-19.

„Keine Chance für Corona“ – wie ein Comic Kindern hilft, das Virus zu verstehen

Die Schulen sind geschlossen und Kinder dürfen ihre Freunde und Großeltern nicht mehr treffen – eine Situation, von der aufgrund der Corona-Pandemie weltweit fast alle Länder betroffen sind. Für Kinder ist diese Situation schwer zu verstehen.

Aus diesem Grund hat die Welthungerhilfe, Partner der PATRIZIA Children Foundation in Kenia, zusammen mit dem Berliner Sozialunternehmen WASH United ein Comic entwickelt, das Kindern und Jugendlichen helfen soll, Corona zu verstehen. Es richtet sich an Kinder im Alter von zehn bis 14 Jahren und klärt über das Virus selbst und die notwendigen Präventionsmaßnahmen auf. Es wurde in mehr als 20 Sprachen übersetzt, von Amharisch über Pashtu bis zu Swahili.

Mehr erfahren und das Comic herunterladen.

So helfen wir in unseren Communities

 

Gerade schwierige Zeiten stärken häufig den Zusammenhalt in der Gesellschaft und bringen damit die schönsten Geschichten zustande. Auch jetzt entstehen Glücksgeschichten! Hier haben wir einige für Sie gesammelt. Lesen Sie selbst und erfahren Sie, wie etwa unsere Projektpartner oder Eltern unserer Schulkinder neue Kraft während der Corona-Pandemie sammeln.
Nachbarschaftshilfe

Debbie ist Lehrerin an der PATRIZIA School Buyamba in Uganda. Sie unterrichtet Grundschüler in Englisch und Naturwissenschaften. Da die Schule derzeit geschlossen ist, ist sie zu Hause.

Debbie, wie gehen die Menschen in Ihrem Umfeld mit der aktuellen Corona-Situation um?

Wir sind seit einigen Wochen im Lockdown und jeder ist seither zu Hause. Vielen Menschen in meinem Dorf gehen langsam die Lebensmittelvorräte aus – vor allem die älteren leiden darunter sehr. Aber jeder achtet auf den anderen und schaut auch außerhalb der eigenen Familie, ob und wenn ja, wie er helfen kann. Manche spenden Lebensmittel, nicht in großem Stil, aber sie kümmern sich um ihre Nachbarn und Freunde.

Wie helfen Sie?

Wenn ich einkaufen gehe, nehme immer ein zusätzliches Kilo Zucker oder Maismehl für meine älteren Nachbarn mit, koche ich für meine Familie, bringe ich Ihnen oft auch etwas davon vorbei. In unserer Gegend essen wir gerne Matoke – das sind Kochbananen, die auf ‘zig verschiedene Arten zubereitet werden können und die immer einen vollen Magen garantieren. Außerdem sind sie gesund – und richtig lecker!

Gebete gegen die Angst

Peter ist ein ehemaliger Schüler des PATRIZIA Vocational Training Ntarama in Ruanda. Er hat sich mit seiner Familie in der Region niedergelassen und arbeitet als Facharbeiter auf Baustellen. Auch sein Familienhaus hat er selbst gebaut. Er hat zwei Kinder, Jean Simeon und Jean Yves.

Peter, wie kommt Ihre Familie mit der Situation zurecht?

Meine Kinder sind drei und fünf Jahre alt. Sie verstehen die Situation nicht ganz. Zurzeit ist es ihnen nicht erlaubt, mit anderen Kindern zu spielen, wie sie es gewohnt sind. Sie gehen auch weder zur Schule noch in den Kindergarten. Jedes Mal, wenn es etwas Neues über Corona gibt, fragen sie danach. Sie sind sehr neugierig, aber haben auch ein bisschen Angst, dass Mama oder Papa krank werden könnten.

Wie helfen Sie?

Ich kann meinen Kindern nicht erklären, was wirklich in der Welt vor sich geht, aber ich verstehe ihre Angst und möchte sie ihnen nehmen. Deshalb habe ich sie Gebete gelehrt, die sie immer und immer wieder aufsagen, wenn sie ein bisschen Angst haben. Die Jungen kamen auf die Idee, die Gebete mit anderen Kindern zu teilen, also schreiben wir sie auf Zettel und lassen sie vor der Tür ihrer Freunde stehen, wenn wir einkaufen gehen.

Lebensmittel für die Armen

Théophile Rutabana ist Managing Director der PATRIZIA Vocational Training Ntarama in Ruanda.

Théophile, wie kommen die Menschen in Ihrer Gemeinde mit der aktuellen Corona-Situation zurecht?

Die Situation ist prekär. Viele Menschen haben keine Arbeit und wir wissen nicht, wie lange die Krise andauern wird. Die Menschen in meinem Dorf sammeln Geld, um denen zu helfen, die es sich während des Lockdowns nicht leisten können, Lebensmittel zu kaufen. Jeder Spender gibt das, was er entbehren kann. Jeder noch so kleine Betrag hilft und wir freuen uns über alles, was kommt. Das Engagement ist überwältigend und fördert neben der konkreten Hilfe auch das Zusammengehörigkeitsgefühl ungemein.

Wie helfen Sie?

Als Managing Director einer öffentlichen Schule unterstütze ich mit meiner Arbeit vor allem wohltätige Zwecke. Das Thema Fundraising steht dabei ganz oben, um den Ärmsten in der Gemeinde zu helfen. Mit den Spenden unterstützen wir die Menschen in unserem Dorf. Ganz konkret konnten wir 5 Kilo Mais und 5 Kilo Bohnen an hilfsbedürftige Familien ausgeben. Das war ein großer Erfolg für uns.

Pater Judes Zuflucht

Pater Jude ist der Pfarrer von Buymaba in Uganda und Seelsorger unseres Projektpartners an der PATRIZIA School im Dorf. Er kümmert sich aber nicht nur um das geistige Wohl der Schule. Er unterstützt auch die Schuldirektorin, Madame Sylvia, bei der Leitung der Schule. Der PATRIZIA School in Buyamba gehört sein Herz und seine Seele.

Pater Jude, wie kommen die Menschen in Ihrer Gemeinde mit der aktuellen Corona-Situation zurecht?

Das Essen ist – wie es in Krisenzeiten üblich – sehr teuer geworden. Die Menschen brauchen deshalb all ihre Vorräte auf. Aktuell haben sie definitiv mehr Angst vor dem Hunger als vor dem Coronavirus. Sie haben außerdem Schwierigkeiten, ihre Schulgebühren zu bezahlen. Als Schule müssen wir dafür Lösungen finden. Aber es gibt auch etwas Positives an der Krise: Die Menschen im Dorf halten zusammen und unterstützen sich noch viel mehr als sonst.

Wie helfen Sie?

Ich bin Pfarrer. Meine Aufgabe ist es, zu helfen. Aber da stoße ich manchmal an Grenzen. Es gibt ein paar Familien, um die ich mich unbedingt kümmern muss, weil sie es nicht selbst tun können. Mein Hauptfokus liegt jedoch auf den Kindern, die zu mir kommen. Es gibt einige, die jeden Tag zu mir kommen oder bei mir bleiben, weil ihre Eltern kleinere Kinder haben, für die sie kaum sorgen können. Eines der Kinder, die mich regelmäßig besuchen, hat letztes Jahr die Grundschule abgeschlossen, zwei andere haben mit der Sekundarschule begonnen. Einige von ihnen kommen auch nur, um mal wieder etwas zum Mittagessen zu bekommen, weil sie zu Hause nichts zu essen bekommen. Ich helfe also, wo ich kann. Das ist für mich eine Selbstverständlichkeit, ganz gleich, ob die Krise Corona oder Armut heißt.

Vielen Dank Ihnen allen –  Passen Sie auf sich auf
und bleiben Sie gesund!